PDA

View Full Version : DigiQ II and BGE


Abelman
08-22-2011, 04:50 PM
I'm in the process of doing up some huli chicken on the grill. So, the fire got a way from me a little as I left it to the DigiQ II to handle the temps for me.

Well, I got tied up with something and left both the vents wide open. So, I was at least 100 too high when I found it. So, I shut it down to try and get back to my goal of 350.

The good news, the DigiQ II has the alrarm telling me that temps were too high.

Now, here's the rub, no pun intended. Once I shut the vents down, I could see the pit temps diving. But, it dove so much, I though, WTH? From 450 to 101 in 5 minutes :crazy:

So, I look at the dome temp and was in the ball park. I knew the DigiQ was having a bad day. I simply unplugged it so it would reset. It's fine now. Just to be clear, I've been using this now for about 2.5 years so it's not a rookie deal.

I love it but it has some issues every once in awhile. Most are that probes or components aren't properly plugged in. This one was a new one for me though.

Anyway, just wanted to pass it along as an FYI. I remember an old Pitmaster episode where the blond woman was all jacked up with them and couldn't get things going. She makes an emergency phone call to the Guru guy. That was all he did, jsut made sure the components were properly plugged in.

P.S. well, now I'm not sure what's going on. Go back out and check and it right back at 101. Un plug it and it's going back to normal temps. Maybe there more going on. Hopefully some Guru guys are on the board like Fred.

Bob Wiley
08-22-2011, 09:54 PM
How many beers you into?

Abelman
08-22-2011, 10:17 PM
How many beers you into?

Funny, I guess not enough as I knew there was a problem :shocked:

Unplugged and reset it again and it was fine. Thanks for asking.

Anyway, the the chicken was fine, Huli style:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v73/abelman/TopGrate.jpg

Oldyote
08-22-2011, 10:32 PM
Is it possible that the high temps were just from flames and it just took awhile for the egg to lock into temp?

Abelman
08-22-2011, 10:48 PM
No, the high temps were real. Both the Egg and the Guru were pretty much telling me we were at 450. So, I closed the top wheel and closed the bottom vent all the way.

I think there must be some sort of code set in the Guru. For it to dive to 101 twice, I'm thinking it's an error code of some sort. After I reset it a second time, it was fine.

I always keep my probes/thermos calibrated so just by touching the egg, it was obvious that it was still up there.

I'll email them and see what the deal is.

It's not a big deal other than the Guru will want to drive the fan as the target temp was 350 and it thought the pit temp was 101. However, it wasn't driving the fan. It's some sort of software issue.