PDA

View Full Version : Smoked turkey

The OC Kid
08-17-2011, 06:42 PM
I am relatively new to smoking on the bbq. I have done it probably about 10 to 12 times with baby backs, fish, and a pulled pork. I have a horizontal smoker. A Brinkman. I am still learning how to keep the heat consistant

I am thinking about doing a whole turkey next week. I am looking for any tips or advice from anybody that has smoked a whole turkey. I plan on injecting the turkey and then a dry rub.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pappy
08-17-2011, 06:53 PM
This might hepl. I used the search box at the bottom.
Scroll down and you will see it.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=106798

The OC Kid
08-17-2011, 07:26 PM
Very helpful. Thank you very much

Smoothsmoke
08-17-2011, 07:54 PM
How are you liking the brinmann offset thus far? I miss mine, putting in whole logs was fun.

ymmiT
08-17-2011, 08:36 PM
Brine, smoke about 5 to 6 hrs then foil and cooler for another hour.

Sent from my 3vo using Tapatalk

smokeyokie
08-17-2011, 09:29 PM
Brine, smoke about 5 to 6 hrs then foil and cooler for another hour.

Sent from my 3vo using Tapatalk
what he said..... brine is the way to go on poultry!!!! just cook to IT 185:thumb:

ToddM
08-17-2011, 09:33 PM
I've not done one since getting a WSM but I've done a few on a Weber OTG. The first was a simple Butterball with some seasoning on the outside of the bird. Indirect but high heat for around 2 to 2.5 hrs. Turned out delicious. Next tried brining a natural bird but didn't see a substantial improvement over the Butterball bird. In fact, I liked the BB better. Have since done another BB. I think high heat is the key.

RevZiLLa
08-17-2011, 09:42 PM
The advice above is good. I like to take a few tamales out of the husk and put them into the cavity as stuffing.

smokeyokie
08-17-2011, 09:48 PM
The advice above is good. I like to take a few tamales out of the husk and put them into the cavity as stuffing.