PDA

View Full Version : Weber Performer owners... do you use the propane start?


Smiter Q
07-07-2011, 11:16 PM
I have done two cooks on my new Performer already. Both times my GF asked me why I used the chimney and did not use the propane burner:confused:. My answer to her was..."ummm I dunno:shock:... guess I like it the way I was doing it.:biggrin1:"
So this got me thinking tonight if other owners use the propane to light a pile of briquettes/lump or just light a chimney with a match the old fashioned way.

Thanks for the answers.

El Toro
07-07-2011, 11:18 PM
I use the propane to light the chimney.....

expatpig
07-07-2011, 11:27 PM
I use the propane to light the chimney.....

Ditto !

cholloway
07-07-2011, 11:49 PM
Yeah... that burned newspaper sure makes a mess!

bloqbeta
07-08-2011, 01:52 AM
propane here

frankie482
07-08-2011, 04:02 AM
I light my charcoal in chimney for bigger cooks and in the charcoal baskets for smaller cooks.

Both using propane ignition.

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
07-08-2011, 04:29 AM
I use my weed burner.

Hub
07-08-2011, 05:05 AM
The propane starter is why I bought mine -- no bits of burning newspaper floating about.

Pappy
07-08-2011, 05:50 AM
Ditto !

Double Ditto!

sbramm
07-08-2011, 05:59 AM
I use the propane to light the chimney.....

yep.... propane the chimney

deguerre
07-08-2011, 06:29 AM
Um, I haven't used the propane igniter since I got mine either...:becky:

sfbbqguy
07-08-2011, 08:05 AM
Always use propane...sometimes just a pile...sometimes in basket(s)...sometimes in chimney with cone basket in chimney turned upsidedown. Just too easy to use the propane. Open the valve and press the button...voila.

Carnivorous Endeavors BBQ
07-08-2011, 08:06 AM
Absolutely 100% yes! The propane to start charcoal in the baskets or in the chimney is one of the best features of the performer next to having the workspace of the countertop.

mwmac
07-08-2011, 08:23 AM
I light my charcoal in chimney for bigger cooks and in the charcoal baskets for smaller cooks.

Both using propane ignition.

Ditto:thumb:

Johnny_Crunch
07-08-2011, 08:43 AM
I don't ever use mine and using 2 paper towels covered in veggie oil seems to not leave any stuff flying around. I have an old performer with the oddball bottle on it and don't want to use it up because I am too lazy to deal with it once I can't get it refilled.

NeoTrout
07-08-2011, 08:52 AM
Ditto !

I use the propane to light the chimney.....

Double Ditto. :cool:

meatalurgist
07-08-2011, 09:16 AM
Always use propane...sometimes just a pile...sometimes in basket(s)...sometimes in chimney with cone basket in chimney turned upsidedown. Just too easy to use the propane. Open the valve and press the button...voila.

this

Hankdad1
07-08-2011, 10:54 AM
Always use propane...sometimes just a pile...sometimes in basket(s)...sometimes in chimney with cone basket in chimney turned upsidedown. Just too easy to use the propane. Open the valve and press the button...voila.

X3, it is part of the beauty of the Performer.

Jimmy the stick
07-08-2011, 10:56 AM
I use the gas every time, Love it!! :-D

biglag
07-08-2011, 11:15 AM
X3, it is part of the beauty of the Performer.

Definitely the beauty of the performer. Just too easy. Gotta love it!


-Lag

Baby Back Maniac
07-08-2011, 11:20 AM
I light my charcoal in chimney for bigger cooks and in the charcoal baskets for smaller cooks.

Both using propane ignition.

^^^What He said! ^^^

Smiter Q
07-08-2011, 11:35 AM
Well the consensus seems to be that folks DO use the propane!
I myself never use newspaper, paper towel with a little oil is much neater.
Thanks all for answering. Guess I will try the propane now too.

martyleach
07-08-2011, 01:09 PM
I still use the sideburner on my gasser to light the chimney. It works better. I think it breathes better being out in the open hence I get the chimney going faster.

otterpop
07-08-2011, 01:48 PM
I light my charcoal in chimney for bigger cooks and in the charcoal baskets for smaller cooks.

Both using propane ignition.

Same here

Boca BBQ
07-08-2011, 08:15 PM
Propane to light the chimney

Sunra
07-08-2011, 08:21 PM
Propane to light the chimney

Great idea I never use mine. I will now to start the chimmney.

YankeeBBQboy
07-08-2011, 09:08 PM
I use either Mister Weed Burner or my Weber Chimney. I got an old SS Performer (19940 and the cost of fixing up the ignition wasn't worth it to me. Your milage may vary though. The best thing about using Mr. Weed Burner is the looks that you get when you pull out that bad boy to light charcoal.

atvottawa
07-08-2011, 10:18 PM
I use the starter cubes. One starter cube under a full chimney and I'm cooking in 15 minutes. I used the propane starter when I first got it, but I found the stater cubes better.

brewerjamie15
07-08-2011, 10:59 PM
Propane. I pile the coals and let 'em rip or I use the baskets then separate them. I always use the propane. It's easy. Of course, I sometimes forget to turn off the propane till the coals are almost ready, but the propane is like three bucks a bottle and lasts a long, long time.

edit: I used the word propane about 90 times there. Oops I did it again. I don't even like propane grills. I like charcoal grills. Just the propane ignite. I'm gonna go to another thread now before I say....

cookingdude555
07-09-2011, 01:31 AM
Load the baskets, ignite the propane, go inside, come back out, turn off propane, move baskets to edge, cook.

millsy
07-09-2011, 07:00 AM
I love the propane and use it every time

Wampus
07-09-2011, 07:03 AM
Honestly, I used the propane every time to light the baskets full of coals until the propane ran out. It's been more than a year now and I've not refilled it. LAZY? Maybe, but by the time I prep the meat, the chimney's ready anyway.

It's a nice feature, but certainly not THAT big of a deal to go "old school".

deguerre
07-09-2011, 07:34 AM
Honestly, I used the propane every time to light the baskets full of coals until the propane ran out. It's been more than a year now and I've not refilled it. LAZY? Maybe, but by the time I prep the meat, the chimney's ready anyway.

It's a nice feature, but certainly not THAT big of a deal to go "old school".
Mine is fairly new and uses those disposable bottles. Not sure how long those last anyway. As a torch for jewelry, a good long time but full tilt lighting a chimney? :noidea:

Smiter Q
07-10-2011, 12:54 PM
Mine is fairly new and uses those disposable bottles. Not sure how long those last anyway. As a torch for jewelry, a good long time but full tilt lighting a chimney? :noidea:


That is what I was thinking. Just how long can one of those last.
On the new Performers can we add a large LP tank too?:confused:

mwmac
07-10-2011, 02:27 PM
That is what I was thinking. Just how long can one of those last.
On the new Performers can we add a large LP tank too?:confused:

I used to hook up a hose with adapter to a 20lb on my old performer. Works great and cheaper to operate than disposable propane bottles. Now that I got the SS Performer http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=108352&highlight=red+performer, I just fill the little bottle:thumb:

El_Capitan
05-14-2013, 06:26 AM
I prefer using propane and a chimney to light the coals. I use a 20 lbs tank with a hose to connect to the performer because the little tanks don't last long. After I light the first coals, if I am doing a long cook, I have one of those little camp stoves i use to light more coals. I picked it up for $10. I will disconnect the hose from the performer and connect it to the camp stove and use it to light a chimney full of coal. I don't like the paper mess.

gaspipe1
05-14-2013, 10:51 AM
I always use the propane. My methods include but are not limited to: chimney starter w/propane; pile of charcoal w/propane and also the charcoal baskets that came with it and propane (sometimes one basket, sometimes both :shocked:)

Doug S.
05-14-2013, 12:53 PM
Always use mine :biggrin1: