PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie...So....don't beat me up too badly please....

SteveT
07-07-2011, 08:38 PM
As I am a relatively newbie...but here are some of the ribs I pulled out about a half hour ago, and we had for dinner. Beef on the right, Baby backs on the left...
I tried something a gentleman told me to try with my "Charbroil Silver" smoker, and that was lining the fire box with thin firebrick and putting the lump charcoal on that, instead of using the grate. It took me a long time to get the heat up, and also to get it settled in at about 250 degrees.
I also used Mesquite instead of the Hickory, I have usually used, and though they ribs were very tasty, and also quite tender, the pork ribs for sure, did not really have the "smoke ring" I am used to seeing....

Oh...and though again, some may say "nay", I like to put some sauce on during about the last 1/2 hour or so....(I guess that's the midwest (Pekin, Illinois) side of me kicking in...

Anyway...here they are.... The big one beef, and the other two pork.... Sorry for the lack of focus on the second pic...

SteveT

Boshizzle
07-07-2011, 08:45 PM
THey look good to me! Nice cook! :clap2:

caseydog
07-07-2011, 08:48 PM
You are not officially a brethren until you are beaten badly. I still have scars from my initiation. The rubber hose wasn't as bad as I expected, but the cattle prod was brutal.

Nice eats, BTW.

CD :laugh:

Kcbigben
07-07-2011, 08:49 PM
Nice work!

Crakaveli
07-07-2011, 08:49 PM
look fine to me.

i would use a grate (on top of the firebrick) as long as the grate has clearance underneath for air flow.

BBQ Bandit
07-07-2011, 08:54 PM
Simple.

No lighter fliud
No liquid smoke
No boiling water
Crock pot is for stews, soups, and sauces... not for BBQ.

Welcome to the BBQ madness!

Dallas Dan
07-07-2011, 08:58 PM
Looks to me like the only thing that needs improvement is the blurring pic. Nice job! :thumb:

dealm9
07-07-2011, 09:13 PM