PDA

View Full Version : Non-sweet rub for ribs?

TWQQ
07-07-2011, 09:21 AM
Hello my brethren,

I'm a beginner to the wonderful world of smoke, but I'm a keen learner and I've been reading a lot.

I've got my sauce preferences down to either vinegar-based or mustard-based as I really don't like a too sweet sauce.

I've been trawling the internet and searching the BBQ books in my possession for a non-super sweet rub that works well with baby back ribs, but to not much luck. Basically, I love the alchemy of mixing spices, but I don't like my ribs too sweet. Apart from reducing the brown sugar, are there any rubs out there in the wide-wide world that don't go too sweet?

Thanks in advance.

PS. Can mustard-based rubs be used as a baste/mop for ribs towards the end of their Qing life?

Joe Steel
07-07-2011, 09:26 AM
From the recipe link under sauces, rubs, and marinades:

No sugar/No salt rub
Recipe Number: 1195316146
Contributor: Third Eye
Rating: Recipe Unrated
Rate This Recipe
Review This Recipe (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/../cookbook/review.php?id=1195316146) Serves: NA
Calories Per Serving: NA
Preparation Time: NA
Difficulty: Easy
Print Friendly Version (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/../cookbook/print.php?id=1195316146)
Recipe is Unreviewed Ingredients: 3 tablespoons paprika
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon ground basil
1 tablespoon black pepper
1 tablespoon red pepper
1 tablespoon mustard powder
Cooking Instructions: Do not add Salt or Sugar Serving Suggestions: Use for Pig Candy

Wampus
07-07-2011, 09:28 AM
I really dig KC's rub out of the Brethren Cookbook. It's got brown sugar, but it's not overly sweet. Here it is:

KC's Rub
Recipe Number: 105
Contributor: kcquer
Rating: Recipe Unrated
Rate This Recipe (javascript:createVoteWindow(105))
Review This Recipe (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/cookbook/review.php?id=105) Serves: 4 racks of ribs or a couple br
Calories Per Serving: NA
Preparation Time: NA
Difficulty: