PDA

View Full Version : Rules of Thumb

rattler4675
04-14-2011, 01:51 PM
I am fairly new to smoking and to this forum. I really appreciate all the information shared here. I have been thinking that a neat thread would be one in which various "rules of thumb" could be listed. An example would be - when smoking a particular meat you should allow X hours per pound of meat. Another example would be - to maintain 225 degrees in an UDS you should use X amount of charcoal (fuel) per hour of burn.
I think that everyone knows that conditions vary from cook to cook, but, we would be talking about those standard conditions, found by experience, to be true most of the time.
I know that many of you have found out these things the hard way. I guess I am lazy, but, I would like to minimize my smoking/BBQ mistakes by picking the brains of you more knowledgeable members.
Please post if you have a "rule of thumb" you routinely follow and don't mind sharing.
Thanks,

Bamabuzzard
04-14-2011, 01:54 PM
Rule of Thumb #1- Go ahead and buy the smoker then ask for forgiveness. :thumb:

Wampus
04-14-2011, 02:20 PM
Rule of thumb #2: When cooking poultry I'll always try and allow time to brine. Whole chickens get brined for 5-8 hours and whole turkeys get brined overnight. I'll also allow for "resting time" after pulling from the brine to give the skin a chance to tighten back up. Salt is the main component in any brine. Sugars and other flavorings are nice to play with, but it's the salt that does the trick.

Make this a part of your regular routine for poultry and you will NOT be disappointed!:thumb:

1FUNVET
04-14-2011, 02:23 PM
Rule #3
Try not to burn your thumb.

Marck
Rule of thumb #3....umm.......don't stick ur hed in the smoker whilst lit.... :-D

jestridge
Rule of thum most pork butts will yield 20 good size samwich

jestridge
04-14-2011, 02:24 PM
Rule of thumb never take what they tell you on a cooking show as gospel

lcbateman3
04-14-2011, 02:27 PM