PDA

View Full Version : BBQ Sauce?

sigmasmokers
01-17-2005, 04:37 PM
I am fairly new to BBQ Competitions and was wondering what, if any sauce you experienced competitors put on your finished Q to turn in to the judges? If it is store bought or a recipe that I might be able to find somewhere? I hope this in OK to ask. I didn't know if this is one of those secrets that people don't like to give out.

Bellybro
01-17-2005, 04:56 PM
Saucing is entirley up to your preference and what you think the judges will like. According to what part of the country your in differents style sauces will do better than others.

I have seen people win both with and without sauce.

I have seen people use off the shelf sauce straight out of the bottle and others mix a couple and doctor them up. Something you have to play with and see what works best for you.

BBQchef33
01-17-2005, 06:23 PM
Bellys right.. Sauce is probably the most variable of all things. From store bought bottled to scratch made. Alot i have seen were doctored up versions of commercial sauces. Its just something you have to experiment with.

Neil
01-18-2005, 03:27 AM
Start out with something you like and experiment. Have a bunch of friends over for some Q with a variety sauces then go with one your guests like the most. Just an idea.

BigBelly
01-18-2005, 08:45 AM
Sweet Baby Ray's with a little honey and garlic powder always sets me straight! That is of course if I was not inclined to use a homemade sauce.

The_Kapn
01-18-2005, 09:53 AM
Sigma,

We have been told from many sources that, in competetion, the sauce (if used) should compliment the meat and not overpower it. Judges are told that the presence or absence of sauce "is not to be considered" in the scoring. Yeah, sure...Judges are human.