PDA

View Full Version : UDS quick question

yobtaf
03-13-2011, 11:53 AM
Throwing some spares on for the first time on the UDS. Seasoned it yesterday with a fatty. As a novice should I use the bottom grate and flat lid, or top grate and weber lid?
TIA

dataz722
03-13-2011, 11:54 AM
Do you have a weber lid that fits tightly? It doesn't really matter which grate you use as long as you know the temp at that grate.

yobtaf
03-13-2011, 11:58 AM
Do you have a weber lid that fits tightly? It doesn't really matter which grate you use as long as you know the temp at that grate.

The weber fits nice, but the flat has the ring that makes it really tight. Thought maybe getting it up away from the heat might be better for my first attempt but I really like how the flat lid seals up so nice.
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc247/yobtaf68/IMG_8953.jpg

firemedic
03-13-2011, 12:02 PM
I've been using my UDS for two years and I find that the flat lid seals better (for me at least-my knockoff Weber lid is kinda oval shaped) so it seems to keep temps a little more stable. Most guys have added the dome lid to get more cooking space. If you can do it with the flat lid I'd say go for it!

firemedic
03-13-2011, 12:03 PM
Don't forget the pics whichever way you decide :biggrin1:

Blackened
03-13-2011, 12:59 PM
I don't use a Weber lid as one doesn't fit correctly on my drum without mods, and I love the snug fit of my flat lid. If your Weber lid fits properly I would think ideally the top rack would be best as it's that much further from the fire basket.

Captain Dave
03-13-2011, 01:09 PM
The lower the grate you use the more it is subjected to the direct heat of the fire. That can cause a stringyness with things like brisket but i think you'll be ok either way with a fatty. Dont forget that the tighter your drum is, the better temperature control you will have.

yobtaf
03-13-2011, 01:28 PM