Stuffin chicken sausage

sudsandswine

Quintessential Chatty Farker
I’ll be stuffing several kinds of sausage over the next couple nights, but on the agenda for tonight was chicken sausage, something I’ve never done before. I never really cared for poultry sausage in the past...I’d always find a little bone shard or something to crack a tooth on. However, I figured if I can control what goes into it, maybe it’ll be better.

I started out with about 6.5lbs of deboned skinless thighs. I’m glad I opted not to grind the skin, chicken fat was a different experience cleaning out of the grinder as is.

I divided the coarse ground chicken into two 3.25lb batches. The first I made was spinach feta and the second was apple gorgonzola. The spinach feta I ground a second time through the coarse plate to mix in the spinach leaves and feta slices, the apple gorgonzola got a second pass through the 1/4” plate.

I fried up a patty of the apple gorgonzola in a pan and oh boy...it was delicious. :thumb: I’m going to run it through some 32mm hog casings in a bit after it chills in the fridge.

Hey Suds,

I have been reading up on sausage making, in fact I made some editable Italian sausages last week.... Quick question, are you using regular (non- high heat) cheese? I always wondered if you really need high heat cheese for sausage?

Also- what is your grinding / stuffing set up? I ask because I currently have a Kitchen-aid attachment, it's kind of a pain... I was looking at the LEM website and wondering what a good set up would be? I'd like to make everything as small as breakfast sausage all the way up to summer sausage... After some research it appears there is not a "one size fits all" with regards to sausage size.... Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Greg