Ready for my “Ultimate Smoker” but need some help deciding

GrantMeThePower

Wandering around with a bag of matchlight, looking for a match.
Name or Nickame
Grant
Hi guys,

Really pumped to have found this site!

I’ve been smoking meats as a hobby for about 15 years now. I started out on a SmokinTex electric smoker until it died, and then switched to a Grilla pellet smoker.

To me, pellet smokers are the perfect smoking solution. I don’t have the time or energy to patiently manage a stick burner through a 16 hour cook (though I deeply admire those that do).

What I’m still slightly unhappy about with my Grilla, though, are two things: 1. Cleaning it is a bit of a pain the way it is designed and 2. (And this one is MUCH more important) the temperature variance is killing me.

What I’m seeing is a delta between the front and the back of usually about 25 degrees...and the swings in any one spot can get to be like 75 degrees.

I’ve gotten a Thermoworks smoke and begun graphing the temps over time and putting the ambient probe in different places and have enough data now I realize that it is simply a design flaw of the smoker and limitation of the controller. It’s fine but I’m ready to step up. And that’s where hopefully you guys come in.

What I’m looking for:
1. A dedicated smoker. I do not care for grilling or need seating or direct heat at all.

2. Capacity- I do not need a large volume, competition sized smoker. At most, three butts or three racks of ribs. If it fit two briskets that’s a plus but that would be extremely rare.

3. Quality-I will pay for “the best” but I want it to hold up over time, have excellent temp control and uniformity, ease of cleaning, a well designed cover (it lives outside in the elements but in Southern California where the weather is relatively mild.)