Problem with first cooks on WSM 22.5 w Stoker

cmonaghan76

Found some matches.
I am having issues. I hope we can figure it out.

I've been smoking for many years, probably 18 years. Started with a cheap offset from a home store - it was awful. Tried a charcoal Brinkman water smoker, decided it was too much work trying to keep temp. Tried a Brinkman electric water smoker, which I modified for thermostat control, and things were getting better, but never got great bbq, and never had a great smoke ring. I then tried a Smokenator in my Weber Performer - and LOVED it. Instantly my bbq was everything I had been looking for. Brisket was AMAZING. At that point I smoked exclusively with the Smokenator. When friends and family found out how good it was, I ran into capacity issues.

I attended Jack's Old South Cooking School (Myron Mixon) in June - and had the time of my life. And I knew then that what I had been doing with the Smokenator was on par with great bbq. But I still wanted better.

Coming back from the class, I had my eyes on an insulated charcoal smoker, but the $3000+ price tag for what I wanted caused me to cave and get a WSM 22.5 while I continue saving for something bigger. I bought a Stoker at the same time.

Now, having finished three cooks on the WSM with Stoker - I am NOT happy with how things are going.

Cook 1: approx. 7lb pork shoulder. No water in foiled pan. Used an aluminum pan on the lower rack as a drip pan above the water bowl. Stoker maintained 225 smoke temp, probe was on the rack near the shoulder. Started it mid-morning. Stalled at 145 for several hours. Stalled again at 150. And then stalled again at 165. At 3am, the meat was up to 180. 17 hours for a not finished shoulder. I was frustrated, pulled the meat, and went to bed. Meat was ok - by pulling it off early it didn't shred, but still made for good slices, especially reheated.