New to stick burning

Let me ask a ( maybe ) dumb question...
we heated with wood when I was a kid, Me and my older brothers job was
take the cut up rounds and split them into 1/4's or 1/8's.

so for smoking do you actually add small pieces split from bigger pieces
or is split a generic term for the wood used?

enquiring minds want to know

Not a dumb question at all. You can control more accurate than 50*F with the thickness of the spits. Just remember everytime you add one you are introducing more oxygen to the fire. You can compensate knowing that. I do temps for a living and you are on the right track. :thumb:

I would have to either let the fire die out, or add a bunch of unneeded wood on purpose for the lang to have a 100* swing.

have you datalogged this?

I compared the analog gauge vs a good digital one and the analog was showing 25 degrees range where the grate level digital one was showing 125 degrees.

have you datalogged this?

I compared the analog gauge vs a good digital one and the analog was showing 25 degrees range where the grate level digital one was showing 125 degrees.

:roll: Even on an Oklahoma Joe Longhorn or an Old Country Pecos it’s easy to to get 50* temp range - temp +/- 25* and end to to end grate temp difference within 25-40*......... :twitch:
Takes a lil practice/experience to figure what size fire/splits/amount of charcoal to run but not hard for someone who has run a stickburner a bit.

Even with the bottom of the firebox falling off.......

XJSAc2wl.jpg

Last edited:
my pecos after it was warmed up was within 20 degrees end to end.

the temperature range was 150°

I have the data.

I also have the pics showing that the analog gauge on these machines is nowhere near accurate.

these pics were taken on a pecos. 275 would be 275, or it could be 325, or sometimes even cooler than 275.

attachment.php
attachment.php
attachment.php
attachment.php