My Brisket Cook-FAST

biffer

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Hi everyone....I am still a newbie on BBQ Brethren so I humbly appeal to your experiences and suggestions. I do want to share my brisket cook I did yesterday that resulted in a 7 hour total time cook for a 15 pound brisket on a stick burner! Started out by purchasing a Certified Angus Prime cut at my old fashioned local butcher store. It doesn't have the typical hard and dense fat you would see with a Select or Choice cut hence I trimmed very little. I have Aaron Franklin's book and adopted his method. A fifty/fifty mix of Kosher salt and cracked granular pepper, no injection and let stand one hour to reach room temperature. I cooked on a Meadow Creek TS70 barrel stick burner and used oak logs only. He does his briskets at a temp of 275 F and I preheated mine to that as well and did my best to maintain it throughout the entire cook. Once ready placed brisket fat side up and have a large water pan as well. This smoker uses the reverse flow system so even heat from the firebox. After hour three the meat temp is rising rapidly (in my opinion) now approaching 160 F. Planned to wrap before hitting the stall and began spritzing when a good bark was formed. I used apple juice concentrate (frozen kind with no added water), apple cider vinegar and of all things some dill pickle juice...tipped off by someone who says Franklin does this. After hour four the temp was now at 170 F so I removed and wrapped in butcher paper and returned to smoker for the duration at the same held temperature of 275 degrees. I never noticed a stall!! With big concern it was now hour 6 and the meat temp probes (two of them and one is the Thermapen) agreed it was going through 185 degrees. I also know the pit temp never fluctuated that much either. It was now coming up to noon my time (seven hours after throwing the brisket on) and I hit the "magic" temperature of 203 degrees in all spots. Hmmmm. All I could do now is believe what I am se