Is this good to start a smoker build with?

ctfortner

Knows what a fatty is.
Hey all, new here. I am not new to cooking, but new to building a smoker for sure. I wanted to check with yall and see if this would be good to start out with. It is not the traditional propane style, but I know it can be used in a different way with trays and such.

Anyway, just wanted yalls opinion on the oil tank and trailer for $300 as a place to start. Steel oil tank is approximately 4' Wide x 2 1/2' Deep x 4' Tall. The trailer seems pretty heavy duty and I believe was once used for hauling heavy generators around for a light company or something like that.

I realize it is "depends on what you want" type of thing, however I have never built or owned one before, so I really have no preference at this point as long as it works good and will handle what I want to cook. It will be used more for family events, pool parties and the occasional small BBQ events. Dont plan on whole hogs, just ribs, chicken, butts, that kind of stuff.

I would say I prefer a wood burning firebox for whatever I build, so I am not sure if this is the best for building that type of smoker or not. I like the looks of some of the cabinet style smokers, but most I see are not with a firebox for wood.

smoker.jpg

smoker2.jpg

smoker3.jpg

You can tell your hooked when everything you look at you think, how can I turn that into a cooker. It will be some work, but what build isn't. Looks like you got it for a good price.

The trailer looks like it'd be worth $300?? If nothing else you could sell the steel tank for scrap if it didn't work out. But, if your imagination gets into gear I bet you could make a smoker out of that thing. Cheers!!!

Yeah..youd be lucky to get 300 for that trailer. The box would fetch you a decent amount depending on what your local scrap shops are paying per lb..