ECB Electric Shoulder Technique Change Ideas

chipmeister

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Hi All. Going to do a 10 lb. Shoulder Butt Saturday. I've been doing these for 15 years (yeah, I do want to upgrade to a better unit eventually :)) but it's what I have. Anyway, my shoulders always come out pretty decent. However, they're not exactly what I'm shooting for. I've been doing a lot of reading lately and of course when it comes to Q, finding lots of differing opinions. I thought I'd pick some brains here and see what you folks think. I've identified a couple main areas of concern:

- I'm not getting a good bark
- I may be oversmoking

As to the bark, after some research, I have read some theories. First the rub, and specifically using sugar. My homemade rub is paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, s&p and brown sugar (not a ton). I know the sugar should help a bit. I was initially concerned about it burning but since it's cooking at low temp, I think that's not a problem. I have also read that many do not mop or spritz shoulders at all. I was mopping but I always had a suspicion that the liquid was wrecking the bark. And along those lines, with the ECB, I was also concerned that the steam from the water pan was also inhibiting bark formation. I have read some people do not put any water in the pan. Is that an idea to try? I wonder though if that will affect the temp.

A side note with the rub, occasionally the shoulders have a slightly bitter taste on the outside. I was attributing that to possibly too much smoke (more on that next). But I have noticed that when I taste the rub before applying it, it does have a slight bitter taste. The only thing I can think that generates that is the paprika (I use Tones from GFS). I always thought it would cook out but I wonder if it does. It is the main part of the rub. I could cut it but I like the balance of the flavors. Ideas?