Does anyone donate their BBQ?

Matto6

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Matt
I'm new to BBQ and I really want to practice to master it. But I'm a family of 2 and I don't know what to do with all this BBQ! My freezer is full of vaccum sealed pulled pork.. but I still want to cook more because I know it can be better, and I don't want to wait a month to use my smoker again!

I had the idea of donating the results of my practice sessions. Has anyone done something similar and have suggestions on how to go about it? It's not like canned food where you can walk in and drop it off in the corner. It's hot, cooked food.

I will ask my neighbors for ideas about local food banks... Or maybe just feeding the local volunteer firemen. But I'm curious if others have done something similar and have suggestion.

I have taken my bbq to our local police, fire fighters and paramedics/EMT. They appreciate it. I haven't done it since Covid though.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

I have taken my bbq to our local police, fire fighters and paramedics/EMT. They appreciate it. I haven't done it since Covid though.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Nice.

Did you arrange it all ahead so they could plan? Or just show up with a tray of food?

I have donated to some local groups who feed the homeless, usually church groups. I too vac seal and freeze some of my left overs and then they can re heat them to serve.

Nice.

Did you arrange it all ahead so they could plan? Or just show up with a tray of food?

Having retired from police work, I would suggest you talk to one of your local officers first. I can guarantee they are going to love it if they know why your bringing it. If you just show up with it, it's probably getting tossed because they don't know what you did to it, and think you may be messing with their food. If you explain it to them, they'll much appreciate the gesture.

Used to feed my coworkers all the time. Would bring meat and they would bring sides and a dessert.