Brisket a Lucky Way

BobBill

Knows what a fatty is.
Brisket notes (I have been cooking stuff for 50 years and usually keep notes for next time...

I once thought brisket required special temp watch etc. But, most is BS,

Believe this: "Simple is usually best in beginning and almost always in end."

Meat was 5.3 # flat choice Costco (low-? price was 30 $scoots?) brisket, How a brisket could be prime is beyond me.

Anyway…a tale of a lucky smoke, just passing it on, for what it is worth.

I used on-line references noted below for basics. I must also note I have cooked brisket often in oven and understand most the talk around it is BS. Brisket, basically, you baste until meat "gives up" to tender.

In oven, it might take 4-5 hours seasoned a bit, browned, sitting on slew of sliced onion, with baste half way up meat. (That baste is different than below also.) Big deal around this Welsh/Irish house.

Night before:

No browning, just S & Peppered meat - like wet sand - covered and put in fridge, fat side down - way it went on smoker, fat side down. I flipped to fat side up, which it went into AL pan in cover mode..

Smoker thingy…

All 4 vents wide open and chimney vent.

Used debarked 3 pcs 1-inch diameter pieces of foot-long hickory…put into basket vertical, and charcoals mixed with the charred wood stuff from last smoke in center around wook, plus couple chopped pieces of same hickory plus say pound of regular charcoal and a bit more of the charred wood stuff…which I got going in chimney...and poured in basket before lowering into smoker.

After a few minutes, guessing on temp, see below…I added meat and squished it together tight to retard spreading out and drying as it shrank.

Time was 7AM it set meat on grille and squinched meat together and covered with the vented top for the smoke.

Thing was, I misplaced the temp thingy, and had to go on guts ‘til I found it.

When I added it to cover, temp was near 360…had to live with that…What the hay!