4 cooks on my UDS and still feel clueless

bryguy

Found some matches.
Name or Nickame
Bryan
I'm doing my seventh UDS cook of a couple racks of cut St. Louis ribs. First time doing ribs and they seems to be going ok but my UDS is a bear. I'm really new to smoking meats in general

Used this as my base line.
https://smokingmeatgeeks.com/ugly-drum-smoker-plans-uds-build/

with the NORCO thread here as backup if I had exact questions

3 3/4 inch intakes, 2 with ball valves and risers*

4 3/4 inch exhausts on tops with 90 degree bends

Basket is that exact one in the post. Bent expanded sheet metal around a propane tank.

Using Maverick XR pro Thermometer and probes. This thing seems pretty neat.

First Shoulder (8.5#) cook went well enough. 10 hours. Avg temp 265. Tried to keep it around 275. Kingsford Bluebag. Half chimney. Mid summer in Central Ohio for ambient temperature if that matters. Pulled at 198 degrees. Very happy with the end result. Loved the UDS.

Second was 2 chickens. Had to fiddle with it the ENTIRE cook. Adjust wait 20 minutes, now it spiked, adjust down, wait 25 minutes wait why is it at 200 now, etc, etc. Food turned out great but I basically filled up on beer stressing out over this thing since inlaws were here and wanted to make good food. Good food was made and leftovers were great in chicken salad and pasta. Mission accomplished and +5 grey hairs.

Third another chicken, another fiddling around day. Less pressure. Everyone liked it.