The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 11-24-2004, 04:34 PM   #1
cayenne
On the road to being a farker

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Tips for staying up all night for smoking...

Hi all!

Well, gonna throw my 20lb fresh ham on as soon as I can this evening...I've never done an allnighter with the smoker before...so, got any good tips on all night smoking? Do you set your alarm to get up every 1.5 hours or so?

I know for sure I can't hit the Wild Turkey like I usually do on a day smoke...

Any good tips on how to stoke a fire that will keep heat up good...but, not too high...and still be a little forgiving if you oversleep a couple hours?

I've stayed up all night plenty in the past..but, usually partying...not having to keep up with a long term meal process...so, any idea or good stories welcome...

Cayenne
cayenne is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 11-24-2004, 04:52 PM   #2
kcquer
Lives in Spirit

C, I usually put on some good tunes. Keep an alarm set so I don't let things get too outta whack and spend a little time taking notes in my cook's log. An occasional stop in here at the site helps too.
kcquer is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 11-24-2004, 05:03 PM   #3
frognot
Babbling Farker

As a person who works three 12 hour night shifts in a row then reverts back to sleeping at night for my days off, i gotta reinforce the idea to set an alarm at all times. Coffee and some good tunes and maybe a good exciting movie or book to pass the time. Move around some and don't get too comfortable.
Good luck!
frognot is offline   Reply With Quote