The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 01-28-2011, 06:27 AM   #1
smokeyw
is One Chatty Farker
 
smokeyw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-11
Location: Smithfield, North Carolina
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Temperature Probe

I have noticed here in many pictures that people put their temperature probe in a block of wood rather than using the supplied clip to secure it to the grate. Does this give a more accurate reading? I have noticed that mt Maverick gauge temp never reads what my smoker gauge does. I have been using the clip rather than the block of wood.
smokeyw is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 01-28-2011, 08:14 AM   #2
expatpig
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 02-20-10
Location: Cochrane, On.
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I use a potato.
__________________
"When I was in Canada, I had a lot of time to think."- Doug Sahm
[B][COLOR=red]UDS x 5[/COLOR][/B]
[COLOR=red][B]Weber Performer[/B][/COLOR]
[B][COLOR=red]Napoleon Apollo[/COLOR][/B]
[COLOR=#ff0000][B]GOSM[/B][/COLOR]

[COLOR=blue][B][I]CSBBQA, KCBS, NOBS(Northern Ontario Barbecue Society)Professional Barbecue Team. USAJFKCENMA.[/I][/B][/COLOR]
expatpig is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 01-28-2011, 09:45 AM   #3
mmmmeat
is One Chatty Farker

 
mmmmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-21-09
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I think its an ease of use issue, if you clip it in place.....its "stuck" there clipped to the grate.....then at some point it gets lost...that being said...
I've used potato, apple, a bulb of garlic....just somethin to keep it off the grate, well keep it from falling thru the grate...

My reasoning is MY pit is a "semi" offset so my temps are different across my grate so every one in a while I like to move the temp probe around to see my hot and cold spots...to help me become a better coook
__________________
Til next time, chew carefully, and dont let your meat loaf!
GRUNTER
UG
GROGG
MY BLOG

Facebookin it!
Avatar created by i really wish i remember, but they got skillZ
mmmmeat is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straightening A Temperature Probe el_matt Q-talk 4 10-03-2011 08:04 AM
The Clock and the Temperature Probe barbefunkoramaque Q-talk 66 06-27-2011 10:52 AM
Wireless Web-Serving Temperature Probe KuyasKitchen Q-talk 73 06-20-2010 11:46 AM
Temperature probe w/ rotisserie SmokeWatcher Q-talk 8 11-16-2009 06:59 AM
Where do YOU put your Temperature Probe???? gotwood Q-talk 9 10-26-2008 10:29 AM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts