The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Unread 12-28-2010, 02:08 PM   #1
smoke-n-my-i's
is One Chatty Farker

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default trailers, equipment, and insurance -- a MUST read

I am putting this here as a competition cook myself. Mods, if you feel it needs to be moved, please do.

I am trying to notify everyone I can, so please read and pass the info on.

IF you have a trailer, competition or otherwise, please call your auto insurance company NOW.... do NOT wait. I found out the hard way that my trailer was NOT covered. I had call, and apparently there was some confusion and misunderstanding on possibly on both parts.

My trailer was only covered for liability while it was hooked to the truck. That was all. I had an accident Sunday night and total both the truck and trailer. No other vehicles involved. I hit some black ice on a bridge and that was all it wrote.....

I called my trailer dealer today to find out about what it would cost to fix. With what I told him, it is totaled. So I called my insurance agent, and was told that I had not added it to the policy. But they do not add cargo trailers. I explained to him it was a totally enclosed trailer and that I used it only for bbq comps and was going to start vending out it this year. He then said if he had known, it could have been added with no problem since it was enclosed and not just a normal trailer for just hauling stuff....