The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 09-10-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
SacramentoHusker
Got Wood.
 
SacramentoHusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-10
Location: New Orleans, LA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Question Dual Remote Thermometer - Some questions ...

I've been looking for a while to find a dual thermometer that can read the temperature of the meat and the temperature of the chamber, and I haven't been able to find much. I've found ones that are rated for meat, and ones that are rated for the chamber, but just this one that is rated for both.

I'm wondering if anyone here has experience with this device. The reviews on Amazon seem to be mostly 4 and 5 star.

I'm looking to use this with the Kamado I recently picked up. You can read about that here.

Your thoughts?

http://www.amazon.com/Maverick-Industries-RediChek-Wireless-Thermometer/dp/B0000DIU49/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
SacramentoHusker is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 07:07 PM   #2
toadhunter911
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 06-22-09
Location: Eastpointe, Mi
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

That's the unit I use. User friendly, seems pretty accurate. Worth the money.
__________________
Craig...Chief cook and pot washer, Prince of Peace Lutheran Church (LCMS)
toadhunter911 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 07:17 PM   #3
Gore
Phizzy

 
Gore's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-05-08
Location: Hiding out from blood suck ghost snake gods, Nazis and scrap iron chefs trying to harvest body parts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I should note that some people have had trouble with their dual-probe Mavericks. One of the problems is they can have very short range (on the order of 10 feet) unless you perform an antenna mod. Others have had problems with the probe wires going bad and having to be replaced at significant cost. This is not universal, of course.
__________________
Assistant to a Mad BBQ Scientist (and a squirrel): Primo Oval XL, Small Offset, Gasser, Optigrill, UBS
"I love everything about the pig, even the way she walks." -- Spanish proverb
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is the rabbit baby. Invests him in yours signature,
(")_(") and the help rabbit baby takes over control of the world!
Hmmmm, I wonder, WWGALD? Avatar courtesy of Grillman and NorthwestBBQ

Promoted by Bigabyte to "Idiot #1" , and dubbed "Phizzy" by Sir Ron.
Gore is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 07:58 PM   #4
SacramentoHusker
Got Wood.
 
SacramentoHusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-10
Location: New Orleans, LA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gore View Post
I should note that some people have had trouble with their dual-probe Mavericks. One of the problems is they can have very short range (on the order of 10 feet) unless you perform an antenna mod. Others have had problems with the probe wires going bad and having to be replaced at significant cost. This is not universal, of course.
I'm not too concerned about the range, though I am concerned about the wires/probes. It doesn't seem as if too many folks have that issue.

Thanks for the comment.
SacramentoHusker is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 07:58 PM   #5
SacramentoHusker
Got Wood.
 
SacramentoHusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-10
Location: New Orleans, LA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toadhunter911 View Post
That's the unit I use. User friendly, seems pretty accurate. Worth the money.
Any issues with the probes/wires?
SacramentoHusker is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 08:08 PM   #6
Will work for bbq
Babbling Farker

 
Will work for bbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-23-10
Location: Moominland formerly known as Earth.
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

I've never had an issue with mine and range was good for me w/o antenna mod
__________________
Paul
00 Slowskys Racing
CharGriller Acorn Komado AKA Milton (RIP), WGA, WSM 18.5", WSM 22.5" BBQ Guru Digi Q, Weber Kettles, Genisis Gold Gasser, Orange and Red ThermaPens and a Partridge in a Avocado tree.

Agent 000 (Double O Zero)
Certified MOINK Baller
CLICK HERE to visit the BBQ Brethren Throwdowns
When all else fails just ask yourself, WWGALD???
Super sexy Farkernaut Avatar by N8man
Will work for bbq is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 08:14 PM   #7
gtsum
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 08-30-03
Location: Richmond, VA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

How do West Coast Husker from a Right Coast Husker!!!

Get the Maverick like mentioned, but if you have any issues with range, which everyone I have had is the case, do a simple 10 minute mod to greatly extend the range. Basically, you take the back case off and attach a wire to the board with solder - the antennae is part of the board - I did this and I can keep connected from the third floor of my house all the way in the front (smoker is in the back)...that is through a lot of walls, doors, etc. It is night and day difference how much better it works with this simple mod...

http://www.instructables.com/id/Incr...Q-Thermometer/
gtsum is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 08:35 PM   #8
Tone
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 04-17-10
Location: VT
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I used my ET-73 for about a year and have already replaced both probes. The wires on the ET-73 are very thin and got crimped with the lid of my offset. I think if I had drilled a hole to run the wires through they would have lasted longer.

I replaced the Maverick probes with Oregon Scientific probes which are much thicker and now I'm confident the unit will run fine for years to come.
Tone is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 08:53 PM   #9
pigdog
Full Fledged Farker
 
pigdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-15-10
Location: Cody WY
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Don't know but must say GO BUFFS!
pigdog is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 09:10 PM   #10
SacramentoHusker
Got Wood.
 
SacramentoHusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-10
Location: New Orleans, LA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsum View Post
How do West Coast Husker from a Right Coast Husker!!!

Get the Maverick like mentioned, but if you have any issues with range, which everyone I have had is the case, do a simple 10 minute mod to greatly extend the range. Basically, you take the back case off and attach a wire to the board with solder - the antennae is part of the board - I did this and I can keep connected from the third floor of my house all the way in the front (smoker is in the back)...that is through a lot of walls, doors, etc. It is night and day difference how much better it works with this simple mod...

http://www.instructables.com/id/Incr...Q-Thermometer/
I've seen that mod - I think I'll be doing it if I can't things to work right.

GBR!
SacramentoHusker is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 09:11 PM   #11
SacramentoHusker
Got Wood.
 
SacramentoHusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-10
Location: New Orleans, LA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigdog View Post
Don't know but must say GO BUFFS!
They are going! Straight to the PAC-12!
SacramentoHusker is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 09:12 PM   #12
SacramentoHusker
Got Wood.
 
SacramentoHusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-10
Location: New Orleans, LA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tone View Post
I used my ET-73 for about a year and have already replaced both probes. The wires on the ET-73 are very thin and got crimped with the lid of my offset. I think if I had drilled a hole to run the wires through they would have lasted longer.

I replaced the Maverick probes with Oregon Scientific probes which are much thicker and now I'm confident the unit will run fine for years to come.
I'm concerned about this with the Kamado. I'm putting in the felt gaskets, though, so I'm thinking about putting a small break in the felt for the wires to pass through.
SacramentoHusker is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 09:12 PM   #13
BBQ Grail
somebody shut me the fark up.
 
BBQ Grail's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-03
Location: Rocklin, CA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Save your money! It's crap! Although for some it works fine, chances are you'll get 90 days worth of use and it'll die...
__________________
Larry

The best way to reach me is with email: larry@thebbqgrail.com
BBQ Grail is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 09:14 PM   #14
SacramentoHusker
Got Wood.
 
SacramentoHusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-10
Location: New Orleans, LA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ Grail View Post
Save your money! It's crap! Although for some it works fine, chances are you'll get 90 days worth of use and it'll die...
Do you have an alternative that isn't like JEM and truly, truly, TRULY outrageous ... ly priced?
SacramentoHusker is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 09-10-2010, 09:24 PM   #15
BBQ Grail
somebody shut me the fark up.
 
BBQ Grail's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-03
Location: Rocklin, CA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I've never really found the need for a remote thermometer. I use a couple of these...

http://thebbqgrail.com/2008/10/11/pr...a-thermometer/

Using the WSM or UDS (and as I understand it, ceramics) once you set the temp it's stable for hours. I just pop out once in awhile and check the temp.

I gave up on remote ones because, for the most part, they don't work long enough to justify the cost.
__________________
Larry

The best way to reach me is with email: larry@thebbqgrail.com
BBQ Grail is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
thermometer

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a new dual probe thermometer suprfast Q-talk 3 07-10-2011 06:34 AM
Dual probe thermometer mn_big_dog Q-talk 3 06-18-2011 10:51 PM
what dual probe thermometer? erichboss Q-talk 4 12-25-2010 08:21 AM
HELP!!! Dual temp. remote probes... MTHank Q-talk 12 10-06-2007 06:02 PM
Polder dual sensor thermometer, anyone use this?? dapittboss Q-talk 1 06-12-2005 11:35 AM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts