The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Unread 09-03-2010, 09:58 AM   #1
BlazinSS934
Knows what a fatty is.

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Need some help trying to host a cookoff/fundraiser

I am a volunteer firefighter and every year we try to to run a fundraiser. The company kicked around a few ideas and they want me to look into running a bbq cook-off. I have partipated in a few contests and I know my way around the grill and smoker, so to the I am the resident smoke head.

some of my handy work http://www.nydailynews.com/lifestyle..._cookoff_.html

http://www.fdnntv.com/Jim_Beam_Terry...house_Cook_Off
Link with video

I am the guy holding the jim beam bottle It was my recipe but i declined the interview so my buddy dana did it and the daily news blew up the fact that he was a professional chef.

back to my question.

how do I go about running a cook-off.
it would be easier to host a comp. and have someone else run it im clueless here any help would be great

we are located in nassau county NY
we have access to a 5 acre grass area w/ a nice gazzebo that has a full service kitchen next to it.
we would also be able to secure nice sized parking lot
we hosted the NYS Parade in 2009 so we know how to handle logistics

just looking for a push in the right direction and some ideas

Sal Astuto
BlazinSS934 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 09-03-2010, 03:36 PM   #2
CBQ
is One Chatty Farker

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazinSS934 View Post