MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 06-30-2010, 03:44 AM   #1
The Frog
Knows what a fatty is.

Default Brisket getting tough after a long rest?

So I am new to BBQ, and looking for some advice while I concoct my 4th of July game plan.

My last brisket toughened up while resting in a cooler. People were late to the party, so I couldn't really serve it on time. At any rate, I held it for 2 hours in a cooler. It was much tougher than when I pulled it off the smoker.

I started with a flat, smoked at 225 until it plateaued for a while around 172, wrapped in foil, continued at 225 until the probe went in like butter which was around 200, more foil, into the cooler for 2 hours. Total time in the smoker (WSM) was about 6 hours.

I've read other people regularly hold the meat for that long.

Has anyone else had this problem?

How can I avoid it?

Perhaps I was wrong about the probe going in like butter, or my probe is too sharp. I don't know, but I would like to avoid it on Sunday.

Old 06-30-2010, 05:05 AM   #2
DCFIREMANN
On the road to being a farker

Not sure what happened. I sometimes hold mine in a cambro for up to 6 hours. And they are very good!

Be Safe

THE DAWG
1- JR ENTERPRISES 60-23
1 SOUTHERN PRIDE BBR-79
1 SOUTHERN PRIDE SPK-500
WEBER RANCH KETTLE
2-WEBER 26.75 GOLD KETTLES

The DC Fire Department Firefighting BBQ Team!
DCFIREMANN is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-30-2010, 06:54 AM   #3
boogiesnap
Babbling Farker