The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Old 03-25-2010, 04:09 PM   #1
Boat-n-BBQ
Full Fledged Farker

Question Brisket turning question

This is a noob question, so try and be gentle LoL

When trimming your brisket for turn-in do most of you “leave the fat cap on” the flat and just slice across the grain? I’m new to comp and turn in boxes, but I always figured the fat cap got trimmed off prior to slicing. That’s how I’ve been trimming my briskets for a while and just thought it was a given..

I’ve recently seen brisket turn-ins and the slices still had the fat on the bottom. I thought that was both odd and unappealing! Am I way of base? Is this normal?

2 Bubba Keg Convection Grills
4 Big Steel Kegs
w/BBQGuru DigiQ's
KCBS/CBJ

Last edited by Boat-n-BBQ; 03-25-2010 at 04:40 PM..
Boat-n-BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-25-2010, 04:30 PM   #2
kurtsara
Full Fledged Farker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boat-n-BBQ View Post
This is a noob question, so try and be gentle LoL

When trimming your brisket for turning do most of you “leave the fat cap on” the flat and just slice across the grain? I’m new to comp and turn in boxes, but I always figured the fat cap got trimmed off prior to slicing. That’s how I’ve been trimming my briskets for a while and just thought it was a given..

I’ve recently seen brisket turn-ins and the slices still had the fat on the bottom. I thought that was both odd and unappealing! Am I way of base? Is this normal?