ブタ
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 01-20-2010, 03:21 PM   #1
Home Grown
Found some matches.

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Brick BBQ Plans and Ideas

I am new to BBQB. I am planning on building a BBQ out of house bricks. I have thousands of bricks laying around.

I've looked at http://www.ibiblio.org/lineback/bbq/wdh.htm
I don't like the idea of shoveling hot coals. I want to put a damper between the fire box and the main grill.

I think mine will be closer to this one.http://www.instructables.com/id/Brick-Barbeque/

I think I will raise the Main grill 3 or 4 bricks higher than the fire box. I was thinking fire box, then grill, then smoker. Also have exhaust in the grill and the smoker. I also am going to add a spit in the grill to do whole pigs and hogs. It seemed to me that he made his grill section way to deep for what he was doing.

He used a drum under the grill to hold the fire. I don't see an advantage to doing that vs a firebox. If the fire box has a damper wouldn't that make it easier to control the heat? Would either way have advantages? If my fire box is brick it would last forever.

I will draw some plans and get them posted. Any comments and or thoughts are appreciated.

Last edited by Home Grown; 01-20-2010 at 03:26 PM.. Reason: Adding Pics
Home Grown is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 01-20-2010, 03:22 PM   #2
Bogus Chezz Hawg
is One Chatty Farker

Good luck!

Unread 01-20-2010, 03:38 PM   #3
aquablue22
Babbling Farker

Good luck, just remember we are addicted to pron!
2 - 18.5 Weber Kettle
1 - WSM Mini