The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 02-21-2004, 05:07 PM   #1
Saiko
is Blowin Smoke!

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Saiko's virgin briskets

Gonna take the plunge tomorrow and do my first briskets. I figured what the fark, I might as well try two of them plus a pork shoulder. I've suffered enough sleep depriviation this week, so I'm gonna start with 5lb flats from costco. Got em marinating in TK's Dr. Pepper marinade as we speak.
Do any of you use a rub after you marinade, or just plop em in the smoker? I'll keep a running log of my efforts, since I'm a brisket noob and maybe someone will learn from my mistakes.

Hunk-o-meat:

Briskets marinating and pork rubbed:

For links to all my BBQ Brethren recipe posts, click http://markandteri.com/recipes.htm
Saiko is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-21-2004, 05:16 PM   #2
Solidkick
somebody shut me the fark up.

Never done a brisket.......looks like a lot of meat! What wood you gonna use?

I did some spares today, 3-2-1 method, turned out just as tender as the babybacks.
Also cooked a precooked ham, foiled at 120 and took to 165, it's resting.

Keep us posted as to how it's going! I here TK's marinade is the best!

------------------------------------------------
Belly Brothers BBQ Team

"Sister Flame" Spicewine Trailer Smoker,Modified Bandera, Uni-Flame Chicken Cooker with a Spicewine Thermometer mod,Kingsford Barrel cooker and a super fast RED thermapen

KC always said "fat cap up!!
Solidkick is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-21-2004, 06:25 PM   #3
david
is one Smokin' Farker