The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners(temp offline)
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Old 07-26-2009, 11:20 AM   #1
Uncle Buds BBQ
is one Smokin' Farker

Default "Here comes the Judge"....trip report with pron

Well it's official. I took the class, raised my hand, repeated the oath, and now I'm a judge! But wait, I'm a cook...judges are on the other side! Why have I done this? Let me tell ya!

We have been competing for 3 years now and our product has REALLY improved but we don't score high at all. We practice, we read, we try new techniques but to no avail. Others, who are well respected in the BBQ community had suggested that a KCBS judges class would be beneficial and they were right.

I learned some key things at class that were not apparent looking at it through "cooks eyes". Plus, it gave me a better appreciation for some slight scoring differences. Now, I'll need to sign up to judge some comps which will probably be strange at first. I feel more comfortable in front of a cooker rather than inside the judges tent.

Now...about the class.

We have wanted to take the class for a while but just couldn't fit it in when the class was being held close to Atlanta. A few months back I saw one offered in Madison, MS so I called Bud Jr. and asked if he was UP for a road trip!