MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 03-09-2008, 05:11 PM   #1
hdis2002
Knows what a fatty is.

Default Corned beef question

Through searching the forums, it seems the best way to start a cb brisket is to soak it for 24 hours in fresh water. The question is: do you soak it in the fridge or in a cooler at room temp? This sounds stupid I'm sure, but I've never done one before. My thoughts are you put it in the fridge, but since it's already been cured, I wanted to ask.
hdis2002 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2008, 05:17 PM   #2
Crüe-B-Cüe
is One Chatty Farker

Definately in the fridge.

Old 03-09-2008, 06:28 PM   #3
BBQ Grail
somebody shut me the fark up.

Keep it cold!

Soon to be a Texafornian.

For a limited time I will be issuing Moink Ball Certificates. I'm working on a special COVID 19 Verson.
Email me for details.
BBQ Grail is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2008, 06:49 PM   #4
MrMike
On the road to being a farker

You may want to soak it longer, like 48 hours or longer. - you can also throw some quartered potatoes in to absorb the salt as well. I always forget about the potatoes. I've got one going now that I soaked for two and half days, changing water twice a day.
Thirdeye has some great tips at:

http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogs...-pastrami.html

I think he's got the best starting point. His rub recipe is pretty darn good, and his
method is pretty damn near idiot proof.

Happy Pastrami!!

Old 03-09-2008, 06:57 PM   #5
CajunSmoker
is Blowin Smoke!