THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

itschris

Full Fledged Farker
I got nice four bone prime rib...dry aged 12 weeks. Rubbed it down with a Kona coffee rub and an additional layer of porchini rub. I'm reverse searing to about 115 then will put it on a raging hit fire to finish it up. Should be perfect...can't wait.

Pics... So you now it's happening...Firing up the XL Baby and just getting started:

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    106.1 KB · Views: 201
My only concern is that it was the cut I had from near the back end so it tapers a bit. I just put the probes in and I have a 5 degree difference from the tall side to the short... 92vs 87 at his point. I might move the probes to a different spot in 30 min to see what's really going on. Either way I always pull by the high temp and adjust for it during the hot sear.

Btw... I've kinda come to the conclusion that 12-14 weeks is about perfect for dry aged prime rib for me. Any more and it has a bit too much blue cheesy quality. 8 weeks is the minimum for mr since the only thing I notice different with less aging is the price. I've just been disappointed with six week aging.

Getting ready for the sear. My kettle is just about raging hot. I dusted some sliced potatoes with the leftover Kona and porcini rub and put them in the smoker to pick a hint of smoke.

Unbelievably, I forgot the veggies... I was going to do stuffed mushrooms but forgot them. The again...prime rib and potatoes wifi do just fine.