ಚಿಕನ್
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 07-31-2014, 10:45 AM   #1
under10minutes
Got rid of the matchlight.

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Controller Advice

Morning folks. I'm in need of guidance.

I'm having a hard time pulling the trigger on a controller and was hoping the community could give me a nudge.

I'm new to smoking. I love tech. I've done numerous overnight smokes which always lead to sleepless nights. The only competition I would take part in would be on a local level. Looking for controller to help me level out the temp on my WSMs.

I currently own a WSM 18 & 22 and use the Maverick 733 to gauge temp and meat. Day to day cooking is done on the 18 and the 22 is used in combo for larger "events".

I'm struggling on which Controller to purchase as well as what Smoker to retro fit it to. My gut says fit out the 22 because the adapter can probably fit over the 18 as well (where as the 18 adapter might not cover the 22).

My research makes me think there's no bad option, just a decision that needs to be made. Would love to get some advice from the folks hoof ( ) used the items before or have been in my shoes.

Thank you in advance!
under10minutes is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-31-2014, 11:25 AM   #2
aks801
Full Fledged Farker

Quote:
Originally Posted by under10minutes View Post
... Looking for controller to help me level out the temp on my WSMs....
For reals? I'm new to the WSM world, having done only two smokes with my new 22, but that thing seems to settle in on a temp and rock steady.