The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  



Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2014, 11:41 PM   #1
93_confirmed
On the road to being a farker
 
Join Date: 04-22-14
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Default Thermometer Probe Wires

I have a Performer and just picked up the Maverick 733. I'd like to know how you guys run your thermometer wires. I had planned to run them under the lid but the instructions frown on that and I've read that there can be issues with heat leaking and temp control issues. Another option is to run them through the exhaust vents but then it would be a pain when opening the lid. What's the suggested method here?
93_confirmed is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2014, 11:49 PM   #2
Demosthenes9
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 04-29-10
Location: Louisville
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93_confirmed View Post
I have a Performer and just picked up the Maverick 733. I'd like to know how you guys run your thermometer wires. I had planned to run them under the lid but the instructions frown on that and I've read that there can be issues with heat leaking and temp control issues. Another option is to run them through the exhaust vents but then it would be a pain when opening the lid. What's the suggested method here?

There was a thread where someone ground a notch in their WSM for probe wires. Can't think of why that wouldn't work for the Performer.
Demosthenes9 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2014, 12:37 AM   #3
Enrico Brandizzi
Babbling Farker

 
Enrico Brandizzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-16-13
Location: Rome, Italy
Default

Exhaust vent always. When you pull the lid off just remember to pull the plugs too!
__________________
3 WSM 22" - 2 Weber OTG 26" - Ferraboli grill
BBQ GURU cyber WiFi + DigiQ DX2 - KSBS CBJ

BBQness is on Youtube, Instagram & Flickr
Enrico Brandizzi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2014, 04:35 AM   #4
93_confirmed
On the road to being a farker
 
Join Date: 04-22-14
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enrico View Post
Exhaust vent always. When you pull the lid off just remember to pull the plugs too!
Are you pulling the plugs out of the transmitter first and then lifting the lid?

Last edited by 93_confirmed; 04-25-2014 at 05:11 AM..
93_confirmed is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2014, 06:25 AM   #5
grill 'em all
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 09-17-10
Location: Houston,Ms.
Default

I drilled a hole in our UDS just big enough for the probe to pass..Drilled directly under the top cooking grate..The smoke loss from said hole is very minimal..Def not the most glamorous mod out there but it does work..
grill 'em all is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2014, 06:37 AM   #6
grill 'em all
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 09-17-10
Location: Houston,Ms.
Default

Drilled a small hole in the side of our UDS just below the top grate..Works great with very very minimal smoke loss..Won't win any glamour awards but does the trick!
grill 'em all is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2014, 06:43 AM   #7
grill 'em all
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 09-17-10
Location: Houston,Ms.
Default

Sorry answered twice!! The java needs to act faster this A.M.!!
grill 'em all is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2014, 06:56 PM   #8
93_confirmed
On the road to being a farker
 
Join Date: 04-22-14
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Default

I did a test run with the 733. I wrapped part of the wire in foil and ran it between the lid and the bowl. It seems to have held up well but I'm sure this will take it's toll over time. I'm going to work on making a notch and run it through that.
93_confirmed is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2014, 07:02 PM   #9
Toast
somebody shut me the fark up.

 
Toast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-17-12
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grill 'em all View Post
Drilled a small hole in the side of our UDS just below the top grate..Works great with very very minimal smoke loss..Won't win any glamour awards but does the trick!
What he said. Look at the Cajun Bandit grommets.
__________________
Cooking Equipment:
Weber WSM, Weber GA, Weber Spirit S-320, Weber 22" OTG
Charbroil Oilless Turkey Fryer
Wife LuzziAnn 1956 model.
GrillEye Bluetooth Temp Monitor, Superfast LSU Purple Thermapen & ThermaPop, Party Q

Toast is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-26-2014, 11:30 AM   #10
Highcal
On the road to being a farker
 
Join Date: 01-18-14
Location: Quebec, Canada
Default

I copied the idea I read somewhere here which is drilling a hole through a bolt just large enough for the probe to pass through, then drilled a hole in my UDS just large enough to pass the bolt through and then put a nut on the bolt to tighten it up.
Highcal is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Forum Custom Search: Enter your Search text below. GOOGLE will search ONLY the BBQ Brethren Forum.





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts