עָטִין
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 04-17-2014, 11:38 AM   #1
skimbop
Found some matches.

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default UDS - Seeking barrel cutting advice

I'm ready to start construction on my first UDS. I don't have a donor kettle for a lid, but I do have a spare drum. I'm planning on cutting the bottom 9 or 10 inches off the drum and using that as a lid. I have an angle grinder and metal cutting discs, but I've never done anything quite like this before. I know some of you out there have cut barrels in a similar manner for various interesting mods, so I'm looking for a little advice on how to help this go smoothly.

My biggest question is: Do I stand the barrel upright and cut around it horizontally? Or should I lay it down on it's side, wedge it between 2 cinderblocks or something, and rotate it occasionally as I cut?

Anything else I should know about cutting a steel drum with an angle grinder?

Thanks!
skimbop is online now   Reply With Quote

Unread 04-17-2014, 12:01 PM   #2
BobBrisket

Default First

off, safety gear (eyes, hands) and especially ears. It's gonna be loud. Best way is to lay it on its side. If standing it up, it's going to bind on the disc as you get most it cut.