ブタ
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 12-25-2013, 10:38 AM   #1
jasonjax
is one Smokin' Farker

 
jasonjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-20-07
Location: Jax, Fl.
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default FEC100 Help Hold Mode?

Hey guys,

Trying the method mentioned in one of the threads about holding prime rib in the FEC 100. I've never used the hold mode before after years of having the cooker.

Can I just click hold temp and start after being in cook mode or do I have to turn it off first and click hold temp and start?

Thanks for the help on Christmas Day!!!! I should have asked this before now. Hopefully I can fiddle around with it if no one is paying attention today.
jasonjax is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-25-2013, 11:30 AM   #2
Know Bull
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Know Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-19-12
Location: Broken Arrow OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

When you first start up the cooker, push the reset button to make sure that all previous programming is cleared. (It should be, but push the button once to be sure). The machine then asks you to set cook temp and time. Push the cook temp button, and set with the up and down buttons while still pressing the temp button. Push cook time button, set with up and down buttons while still pressing. Then press hold temp, and set with up and down while still pressing button. Then push start and the cooker begins at the start of the cook cycle. The cooker automatically shifts to hold at the end of the cooking time that you programmed, and will stay there till you run out of pellets.

You do not need the hold cycle if you are not setting it up to change automatically. If you simply want to change the temp manually, you can push the cook temp button and change the programmed setting at any time.

And just in case you do not know (someone had to tell me), when you are ready to shut down, push the reset button and let the cooker sit for 30 minutes or so before you turn it off. Pushing reset stops the pellet feed, but keeps the fan blowing at low speed to burn up the pellets that are in the fire pot.
__________________
Know Bull

FEC 100
Backwoods Gater
Hasty-Bake Legacy
Big Green Egg - medium
Cookshack model SM050
The Good One Rodeo clone
Know Bull is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 12-25-2013, 11:37 AM   #3
jasonjax
is one Smokin' Farker

 
jasonjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-20-07
Location: Jax, Fl.
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Yeah. I figured it out luckily since it was time temp wise. I set the cook time to 5 minutes and let it elapse. The cooker went into hold temp mode. Silly I had never used the feature before, and probably should have!

I may have to order a probe for it since I think the feature sounds interesting.

Thanks for the help. I had not heard about the reset button either. I will give it a shot too.

Merry Christmas!
jasonjax is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-25-2013, 11:42 AM   #4
Know Bull
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Know Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-19-12
Location: Broken Arrow OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Probe does not work well with prime rib. I cook my prime rib to 125 internal for medium rare; and this is below the minimum probe setting.

Probe is really for brisket and/or pork shoulder that you are cooking to higher temps.
__________________
Know Bull

FEC 100
Backwoods Gater
Hasty-Bake Legacy
Big Green Egg - medium
Cookshack model SM050
The Good One Rodeo clone
Know Bull is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-25-2013, 11:45 AM   #5
jasonjax
is one Smokin' Farker

 
jasonjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-20-07
Location: Jax, Fl.
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Yeah, I was thinking of some of the larger meats, but good to know about the low temp with it. Thanks again for the fast response on Christmas Day!
jasonjax is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-25-2013, 12:01 PM   #6
Know Bull
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Know Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-19-12
Location: Broken Arrow OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I use the hold cycle in reverse. I start my big meats at 180 for several hours to maximize smoke, then have the hold cycle set to a higher cook temp.
__________________
Know Bull

FEC 100
Backwoods Gater
Hasty-Bake Legacy
Big Green Egg - medium
Cookshack model SM050
The Good One Rodeo clone
Know Bull is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from: --->
Unread 12-26-2013, 12:04 PM   #7
TangySauce
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 10-28-13
Location: Denver, CO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Any pix on this? Would love to see what you came up with on the cookshack.
TangySauce is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts