ಚಿಕನ್
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 12-05-2013, 07:35 AM   #1
Cowboy965
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 08-20-13
Location: La Moille, IL
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Cyberq and Samsung S3

I have searched all over and can not find anything that works, at least not yet. I have a Samsung S3 phone and can not see the CyberQ, my lap top does which is great, but I still can not connect to the the CyberQ web page even on lap top. I am a complete moron when it comes to this stuff and banged my head on the wall all night long trying ANYTHING to get it to work on phone and or laptop. Any help me...
Cowboy965 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 08:08 AM   #2
Untraceable
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 05-19-11
Location: mn
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Ad Hoc or Infrastructure. If your having problems, start out with Ad Hoc.

first thing is in ad hoc, the CyberQ is its own wifi network. So whatever you do with your phone or laptop to select diferent wireless networks, your CyberQ should be detected. On my iphone, and mac its seen as a "wireless device". select that. If you didnt catch the IP Address that flashed during start up, by holding the up and down arrow at the same time for a couple seconds will jump you over to the network info (you might have to scroll right once or twice after your get there to find the group with that network info)

type that IP into your phone that is signed into your cyberq's network. and you should be there.
__________________
Humphrey's BB'cube-Weber Genesis 330-Weber OTP
Untraceable is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 08:10 AM   #3
Untraceable
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 05-19-11
Location: mn
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

if it asks you for a password, the stock password will be 1234abcdef
__________________
Humphrey's BB'cube-Weber Genesis 330-Weber OTP
Untraceable is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 08:27 AM   #4
Cowboy965
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 08-20-13
Location: La Moille, IL
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Tried that to no avail..:(
Cowboy965 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 09:05 AM   #5
Untraceable
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 05-19-11
Location: mn
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

did you buy it new or second hand?
__________________
Humphrey's BB'cube-Weber Genesis 330-Weber OTP
Untraceable is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 09:21 AM   #6
Cowboy965
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 08-20-13
Location: La Moille, IL
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Bought it new. Came with Smoker as an add on. From what I am reading Samsung wont support Adhoc. So I am running to Verizon store to see what they can do. Still not sure why I can not get to the CyberQ webpage from my lap top though...Maybe I should have listened in computer class...
Cowboy965 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 09:35 AM   #7
Untraceable
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 05-19-11
Location: mn
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Trade that S3 in for a Iphone 5S

what kind of a laptop?
__________________
Humphrey's BB'cube-Weber Genesis 330-Weber OTP
Untraceable is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 09:49 AM   #8
Cowboy965
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 08-20-13
Location: La Moille, IL
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Yeah that won't happen. Just upped contract 3 months ago and got this phone. Locked in for another 2 years. Just my luck...
Cowboy965 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 10:48 AM   #9
dano
Take a breath!

 
dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-11
Location: West Chester, PA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

No adhoc for us S3/S4 guys
Will only work in Infrastructure mode....I have found that only some droid phones where built with Adhoc. BBQ Guru built the platform to match IPhones (which all have Adhoc).
__________________
www.FireCraft.com
Essential BBQ Equipment
sales@firecraft.com
1-800-745-6109
Authorized Stump's Smokers Dealer

dano is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 10:53 AM   #10
Cowboy965
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 08-20-13
Location: La Moille, IL
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

That sucks! So what you are saying Dano that I am screwed out on location using phone? I was hoping to leave cooker unattended in a field for a cook and sit back at home 20 miles away and monitor...Was the whole purpose on buyin it
Cowboy965 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 11:01 AM   #11
Goddahavit
is one Smokin' Farker

 
Goddahavit's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-18-08
Location: PA, Fleetwood
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Just a question but how were you going to get the signal 20 miles away? you would need internet access in the field to accomplish what you are trying.

are you saying you wanted to teather it somehow? and leave your phone at the cooker?
__________________
Fire & Spice Cook Team
Backwoods Authorized Dealer
fireandspicebbq@gmail.com
Stumps Platinum 5 on a porch trailer
Backyard Jambo
Stump's Stretch
Bubba Keg
Weber WSM
Old weber gasser
Uuni pellet fired pizza oven
Goddahavit is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 11:04 AM   #12
Untraceable
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 05-19-11
Location: mn
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

you could have a verizon mobile hot spot and run infrastructure mode I believe and do it
__________________
Humphrey's BB'cube-Weber Genesis 330-Weber OTP
Untraceable is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 12-05-2013, 11:10 AM   #13
Hozman
Take a breath!
 
Hozman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-07-11
Location: Grain Valley, MO via Big Sky country
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes I do think they need to make it more clear on their website that Adhoc does not work with Android devices.

I just got mine about a month ago and had no idea either.

Either way Adhoc I think is only good for 600-1000' cowboy so even if it worked with Android you can't control CyberQ from that far away unless you use infrastructure and have it go through a router.
__________________
18.5 & 22.5 WSM-Weber one touch. Cyber Q Wi-Fi. Head cook Thick and Thin BBQ
Hozman is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 12-05-2013, 11:23 AM   #14
BobM
Babbling Farker

 
BobM's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-12
Location: Long Island, NY
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...26#post2310326
__________________
"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin
| Weber 18 1/2" & 22 1/2" WSM, 22 1/2" & 26 3/4" OTG, Genesis S-330 |
| BBQ Guru CyberQ WiFi
| Maverick ET-732 | Gray Thermapen |
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 12-05-2013, 11:34 AM   #15
Cowboy965
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 08-20-13
Location: La Moille, IL
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Kind of what I planned on was a Verizon Jetpack that the Guru would run through and I can access from phone that way. But looks like it's all for not.
Cowboy965 is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.