The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Old 09-18-2013, 08:58 PM   #1
Shagdog
Babbling Farker

Default Competition Question on beef

So... I'm just starting out in competition BBQ. I've been a student of it for longer than I care to count, but finally got around to dipping my toe in the competitive pool. Did a ribs only cook off last weekend and placed 4th in both Dry and Wet. I'll take it for my first outing.

Anyway, we're doing another small one this weekend. 3 categories - ribs, chicken, and beef. I'm good with the ribs and chicken, but for beef they say "Any cut you want" Anybody heard of this? Set up starts at 7:30 and turn in for beef is at 1, so unless I do a very small brisket hot and fast, seems like that's out. What is typical for something like this? What should I avoid? My mind went straight to bourbon soaked Prime Ribeye steak. Is that a good idea? How would you even present that to 6 judges? Preslice it like a brisket? 6 small steaks in a box? Thanks for any help you guys have.
Shagdog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-18-2013, 09:40 PM   #2
BillyVoltaire
On the road to being a farker

How about a nice tri-tip?

BV
BillyVoltaire is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 09-18-2013, 09:49 PM   #3
Ron_L

What are the rules for turn in? Do you need a specific number of pieces?

The Naked Fatty!