Going to try a Tri-Tip for the first time.

WvQ

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
I've never tried one before, but will give it a try tomorrow. I'm figuring on just using salt and pepper and possibly inject it with beef broth. Anyone else have any advice?

4-5 cloves garlic minced
3 Tbsp finely chopped fresh rosemary
1 Tbsp chopped freah thyme
Zest of 1 lemon
3 Tbsp kosher salt
3 Tbsp freshly ground pepper
(You might need to double this, depends on size of tri tip)

Brush tri-tip with evoo, coat with herb rub

Cook over direct heat and sear, move to indirect heat and cook to temp, I go medium rare

• Thanks
Reactions: WvQ
No need to brine or inject, just do your favorite beef rub and smoke to 133 IT and then do a quick sear on both sides over some hot coals. This will be a beautiful medium to medium rare.

The most important thing is to cut it against the grain, look up good directions on doing it...trust me.

Follow these instructions and you'll have a perfect tri tip.

• Thanks
In California we do it Santa Maria style. You can use Suzy q prepared rub or just simply season the tri tip as you would a steak. Generous sea salt or kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, granulated garlic and some dry parsley. Let it sit on the counter while you get the fire ready for a reverse sear. Indirect cooking until 120 than on direct until its nice and seared. Temp should be around 135 or so for a nice medium as the temp will rise a little bit when rested. Slice against the grain and serve.

I will actually be doing tri tip tomorrow.

Good eatings

Vince

• Thanks
Heres how I do them.

1. Prepared meat first with a little fresh ground sea salt, then fresh ground pepper, then some whiskey steak seasoning and finally some rosemary flakes. I wrap in stretch wrap and let this rest in the fridge overnight.
2. I mound the lump in the front of the kamado and you can see that the meat was in the back for indirect cooking.