THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dauvis

is Blowin Smoke!
When researching Viking vittles, my thoughts kept turning to making a stew. Since I've never done a proper stew before (let's just say a can opener was all the equipment I needed), I went with that as my challenge.

For my menu, I decided on a beef stew, a honey/walnut flat bread, and a baked apple for dessert.

The players
5y5z.jpg

Stew meat after smoking for a bit
v9k2.jpg

Searing the meat
mad9.jpg

Ready to deglaze
1f7p.jpg

Ready for onions, garlic, and thyme.
knmo.jpg

Veggies chopped and ready
1u9j.jpg

Apples stuffed with honey, walnuts, and cinnamon
hwga.jpg

Apples by the fire
m0n3.jpg

Cooking flatbread ala the grilled pizza method
nbzc.jpg

The end result
yojk.jpg

Some things worked well and some not so well. Helpful tips appreciated and thanks for looking.

That is awesome!
I'm loving the Viking theme!

When researching Viking vittles, my thoughts kept turning to making a stew. Since I've never done a proper stew before (let's just say a can opener was all the equipment I needed), I went with that as my challenge.

For my menu, I decided on a beef stew, a honey/walnut flat bread, and a baked apple for dessert.

The players
5y5z.jpg

Stew meat after smoking for a bit
v9k2.jpg

Searing the meat
mad9.jpg

Ready to deglaze
1f7p.jpg

Ready for onions, garlic, and thyme.
knmo.jpg

Veggies chopped and ready
1u9j.jpg

Apples stuffed with honey, walnuts, and cinnamon
hwga.jpg

Apples by the fire
m0n3.jpg

Cooking flatbread ala the grilled pizza method
nbzc.jpg

The end result
yojk.jpg

Some things worked well and some not so well. Helpful tips appreciated and thanks for looking.