The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-26-2012, 12:01 AM   #1
imott
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 05-26-12
Location: Cupertino, CA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default CyberQ WIFI INFS Router Issues

I have purchased a CyberQ WIFI and had/have issues connecting to my routers.

My Netgear WNDR3700 and my DLink WDL-G700AP would not connect in Infrastructure mode.

My old Linksys WCG200 (w/two antennae) connects with no issue.

Please post your router info here to help narrow down the issue. Please include hardware and firmware versions.

Thanks!
irv

BTW: Beta Tester for this device.

Last edited by imott; 07-26-2012 at 12:50 AM..
imott is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-26-2012, 12:58 AM   #2
North Is Up
Knows what a fatty is.

 
North Is Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-19-12
Location: Truckee
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

We discussed this with you before in another thread and I'm not surprised that you're still having issues. I also have a Netgear WNDR3700 and couldn't get it to connect either. It's a version 1 running V1.0.16.98-dnsNA. I put it on an older Netgear WG602 access point running V1.2.5NA and it works fine and hasn't missed a beat in about 20 cooks so far.

You're not doing anything wrong. It's the 0.8 firmware on the CyberQ Wifi. You see how many others have had the same issue. Keep the Linksys in there.

I don't plan to upgrade the CyberQ Wifi firmware when an upgrade eventually comes out. I think that the SSL will just get in the way for me. I'll wait and see. Good luck.
North Is Up is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-26-2012, 04:04 PM   #3
imott
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 05-26-12
Location: Cupertino, CA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Actually, I have gotten it to work with a different router. I am trying to compile a list of working and non-working routers for the test team at BBQGuru.

I am currently testing the new firmware for BBQGuru. The next release does not have SSL. It simply password protects access to the webpages on the CyberQ WIFI.
imott is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-26-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
North Is Up
Knows what a fatty is.

 
North Is Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-19-12
Location: Truckee
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for testing things for them. Can you not password protect pages? It would be cumbersome on a phone to type in passwords with my fat fingers. THANK YOU.
North Is Up is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-27-2012, 09:35 AM   #5
palmtreefrb
Full Fledged Farker

 
palmtreefrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-22-11
Location: Buena Park, CA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

You will have the "option" to password protect or not using HTTP Username and HTTP Password.
See below from the upcoming release...



Quote:
Originally Posted by North Is Up View Post
Thanks for testing things for them. Can you not password protect pages? It would be cumbersome on a phone to type in passwords with my fat fingers. THANK YOU.
palmtreefrb is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-27-2012, 03:18 PM   #6
Planenut
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 07-11-12
Location: Charleston, SC
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm using an AT&T 2wire DSL router with no problems. I will get you the details later.

Thanks for working on this.
__________________
22.5 WSM, Green Weber Performer, smokey joe mini smoker
Planenut is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-27-2013, 11:14 PM   #7
supercazzola
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 03-24-13
Location: merritt island, fl
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by palmtreefrb View Post
You will have the "option" to password protect or not using HTTP Username and HTTP Password.
See below from the upcoming release...

Hey palmtreefrb,

I wouldn't worry about password protecting your cyberq if you're running a wireless net with WEP. it (WEP) has been shown to have a flaw which allows someone to crack your encryption key in a manner of minutes.

If they did that, they could put a machine on your wifi and sniff your password for the cyberq (as well as other things).

UPDATE: I just saw the "11.8" at the top of the screen shot, so I assume you just provided a screenshot from a user's guide, but my advice/warning is still valid
__________________
--------------Large BGE

Last edited by supercazzola; 03-27-2013 at 11:17 PM.. Reason: Update
supercazzola is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts