The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  


Our Homepage Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners(temp offline)
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
Sooner21
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 10-24-09
Location: WNY
Default Portable Guru power supply?

Any recommendations?
Sooner21 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2010, 08:20 PM   #2
BRBBQ
is Blowin Smoke!
 
BRBBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-05-08
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Default

inverter that can plug into your car or deep cycle battery
BRBBQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2010, 09:26 PM   #3
CaptGrumpy
is one Smokin' Farker

 
Join Date: 03-03-08
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default

I have the 12 volt car adapter and I have an emergency power jumper battery for the car that has the cigarette outlet to plug into.
__________________
[SIZE=3][COLOR=black][B][U]Team Grumpy[/U][/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]

[COLOR=red]Red Thermapen & Red Guru DigiQII[/COLOR]

[COLOR=darkgreen]Large Big Green Egg[/COLOR] [SIZE=1][COLOR=yellowgreen]adopted 25MAR08[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[COLOR=darkgreen]Small Big Green Egg[/COLOR] [SIZE=1][COLOR=yellowgreen]adopted 01JUN08[/COLOR][/SIZE]
CaptGrumpy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2010, 09:29 PM   #4
Sooner21
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 10-24-09
Location: WNY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptGrumpy View Post
I have the 12 volt car adapter and I have an emergency power jumper battery for the car that has the cigarette outlet to plug into.
So the car adapter plugs into the guru in one end and the power jumper battery in the other end?
Sooner21 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2010, 09:36 PM   #5
OakPit
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-17-09
Location: Stowe, VT
Default

It is these things - hooked to any deep cycle battery. http://bit.ly/7Z3O49 - they work really well. I run my Traeger on one battery for a couple of long smokes.
__________________
-Tim

Traditional Santa Maria Pit
Mini, Small, Medium & Large BGE
Weber 22" OTS & 26" OTG & 18"WSM & WGA
[COLOR="Red"]Each wearing custom handles from Marty Leach[/COLOR]
OakPit is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2010, 09:54 PM   #6
swamprb
somebody shut me the fark up.
 
swamprb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-27-06
Location: Bothell WA
Default

I'm using this

http://www.amazon.com/Duracell-DPP-6.../dp/B000TKHMWK

decent price too
__________________
Brian - Left Hand Smoke BBQ PNWBA 2010 Team of the Year
BGE's/WSM's/Pellet Pro WSM/BWS Gater/BDS Clones/Cookshack 008/Weber Performer w EZ-Que/Cajun Bandit/Rib-O-Lator Test Pilot/La Caja China/BBQ Guru/Weber 1000 RK Drum Coffee Roaster
Follow Left Hand Smoke on Facebook!http://www.facebook.com/pages/Left-H...462391?sk=wall
KCBS CBJ/PNWBA CBJ www.pnwba.com
swamprb is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 01-18-2010, 10:21 PM   #7
Bones
Full Fledged Farker
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-08
Location: Bartlett, IL
Default

I use a jumpstart battery that has a lighter plug. No need to lug a deep cycle battery around. The jumpstart is less money than a deep cycle battery. If you already have a deep cycle battery get the adapter for a lighter plug. Call the Guru folks if you have additional questions and they will be able to help you.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2010, 10:34 PM   #8
Sooner21
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 10-24-09
Location: WNY
Default

Does the jumpstarter give enough power for a long smoke?
Sooner21 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-19-2010, 08:17 AM   #9
TN_BBQ
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 06-02-08
Location: Knoxville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooner21 View Post
Does the jumpstarter give enough power for a long smoke?
Yes.
Harbor Freight had a some on sale the other day.
__________________
Life's a party with a Backwoods Party!
TN_BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2013, 09:47 AM   #10
jmoney7269
Banned
 
jmoney7269's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-11
Location: brenham, texas
Default

I got 2 marine batteries for my boats that rarely get used, so most of the cook places we go we only need power for the cookers and hate to run the big onan just to power gurus. So I bought these today from the guru website. I'm stoked. I wonder how long a 100a/hr battery will run 2 gurus?
jmoney7269 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2013, 10:07 AM   #11
SmokinFatties
Full Fledged Farker
 
SmokinFatties's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-10-13
Location: Ironton Oh
Default

Saw this on pitmasteriq.com. I am in no way affiliated with Pitmasteriq. I just own one and saw this on their website and thought if I posted it here I needed to give them the credit or the blame depending on the outcome.




Battery pack instructions:

Get two "4 D Battery Holders" from Radio Shack, part number 270-389 (http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...&filterValue=D ).  Wire these in series (black of pack 1 to red of pack 2) to produce 12 volts (8 x 1.5 volts per battery = 12v).  Wire the positive (red) of pack 1 to the center terminal of a "Size M Coaxial DC Power Plug", part number 274-1569 (http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...rName=Category ).   Wire the negative (black) of pack 2 to the outer terminal of the power plug.  This will run the IQ for several long cooks.  I got 6 long cooks out of mine before I stopped testing it.  Use rechargeable D cells to save money - Radio Shack has these too.

Note that soldering is required to join the wires together and to the power plug.  Use heat shrink or electrical tape over all electrical connections.
__________________
Smoker Joe, UDS, Weber Silver 22.5 kettle, MB Gas Smoker, CG Smokin Pro w/sfb, pitmaster IQ110
SmokinFatties is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2013, 10:42 AM   #12
jmoney7269
Banned
 
jmoney7269's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-11
Location: brenham, texas
Default

^^^^^^^^^^lol that will work also but i had $400 worth of deep cycle batteries lying around so i figured i would put them to good use on the gurus while keeping the generator use to a minumum if the weather is good at cookoffs. i know how to series batteries. i removed the 6volt series from the rv and did 12 volt parallel, i like that much better even though there is not as much a/hrs. thanks for the reply also, any info helps future users of this method.
jmoney7269 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2013, 11:13 AM   #13
pwa
is One Chatty Farker
 
pwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-11-11
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Default

I'm with Swamrb and use the


with my stoker with 2 10cfm fans and never ran out of power..... Yet

pwa
__________________
Equipment:
2UDS
Weber Performer
WIFI Stoker
Custom Trailer Offset

Owner of BurlesQ BBQ shack
BurlesQ BBQ Facebook
BurlesQ BBQ website
pwa is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2013, 11:18 AM   #14
Untraceable
is Blowin Smoke!
 
Join Date: 05-19-11
Location: mn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoney7269 View Post
I got 2 marine batteries for my boats that rarely get used, so most of the cook places we go we only need power for the cookers and hate to run the big onan just to power gurus. So I bought these today from the guru website. I'm stoked. I wonder how long a 100a/hr battery will run 2 gurus?
probably close to 100 hrs continuous. I was told from Guru that the 10cfm fan draws .67ah. now your fan is probably only running 30-40% as a whole during the cook. 2 fans would run non stop for roughly 75 hours.
Untraceable is online now   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Thanks from:--->
Old 03-26-2013, 11:30 AM   #15
Mo-Dave
Babbling Farker
 
Mo-Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-18-06
Location: Hurricane Deck Missouri
Default

I used a cheap inverter in the cig lighter or the utility socket, with long extension cord. Have thought about using a small riding lawn mower or even a motorcycle battery, but I really don't use it anymore, so no need for it. The fan used on mine is a 10 cfm and had no problems at all with the inverter used.
Dave
__________________
Let us have a drink and by God lets us not think about the things we ain't never going to know about.
Mo-Dave is online now   Reply With Quote


Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repairing a Duracell portable power pack for my Stoker Professor Salt Q-talk 0 07-14-2011 03:40 PM
Portable Power with the Stoker (Long) G$ Competition BBQ 13 05-06-2010 09:59 PM
Portable power source WineMaster Q-talk 8 07-09-2009 11:10 AM
Portable Power Source to run a guru? twisterbret Q-talk 8 07-08-2009 12:17 PM
Portable Generators Recalled by General Power Products Due to Fire Hazard WannaBeBBQueen Announcements and news 0 10-15-2008 07:55 AM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Forum Custom Search: Enter your Search text below. GOOGLE will search ONLY the BBQ Brethren Forum.





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts