cooking whole hog running style

jonboy

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
Does anyone have a preference for cooking whole hog running style over flat on the back method? It seems that the flat on back style creates a bowl effect and would be juicier but oilier also.
I have no experience cooking whole hog. I hope to be able to try one this year.
I am looking for techniques for cooking for family and friend. If you know of any videos,please send a link.
I would like to attend the yazoo delta class if the stars ever align.
Thanks in advance,
jonboy

first off what kind of cooker do you have
are you having a pig picking or you cooking for the meat

The cooker is a large offset, reverse flow. I think that a pig would work either way.
I was curious to know the pros and cons of each method.
I have read Myrons method and see a few of his videos. That is what i would describe as the bowl method.
I saw somewhere that Yahoo Deltas uses the standing running method. It seems that would produce a leaner, less fatty product. It might dry out also.
I have no whole hog experience.:oops:
Just trying to learn all that i can.
I hope to try cooking a whole hog this year. I would hate to invite several friends over and really screw up the cook.:oops:
I would like to attend Memphis in May but not really sure if i could learn much from wandering around.

You asked if i was having a pig pickin or cooking for the meat? I don't really understand the difference.
jon

Contact some of the whole hog guys...iamarealbigdog here on the brethren got 5th place whole hog last year at memphis. If you do make it down for MIM drop by our tent and say hi.

Neil

I start it off running style, then finish on the back, once done, poke a few holes in it and let the grease run out.