ಚಿಕನ್
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 11-09-2011, 03:20 PM   #1
Jus10
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 11-09-11
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default CyberQ II networking question

Just received a CyberQ II and am currently trying to figure out the best way to connect it to my computer via wireless USB. My smokers only about 6 feet from where my laptop usually is, but I don't want a cord running through our patio door. I've ran across a few devices like this Amazon.com: Iomega iConnect Wireless Data Station 34779: Electronics@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/31cMZMpnvdL.@@AMEPARAM@@31cMZMpnvdL. It works with printers, so I thought it might work with the CyberQ . Thought I'd check on here while I wait feedback from the Gurus.

Please let me know if you have a wireless method that works well. Thanks in advance.
Jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-09-2011, 07:25 PM   #2
big brother smoke
somebody shut me the fark up.


 
big brother smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-03-06
Location: Ventura, CA
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Bumpity... I know nothing about these. Can someone help here?
__________________
Peace and Smoke,
BBS

Powered by the West Coast Offense: Big Poppa Smokers and Simply Marvelous

"Walk with Us"
big brother smoke is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-09-2011, 07:32 PM   #3
AustinKnight
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 08-23-10
Location: Austin Texas
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Bumpity... bump ..bump It sounds like it would work I don't have one but doesn't the CyberQ have a usb port?

EDIT sorry I see it does
__________________
|HOOK'EM UDS|MINI UDS|22.5 WEBER PERF|B&B|OAK & PECAN|DIGIQ|TW8060|THERMAPEN ORANGE|Char-Griller Akorn|Thin Blue Smokery|
AustinKnight is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-09-2011, 09:38 PM   #4
Hoosier1960
On the road to being a farker

 
Join Date: 08-30-11
Location: Columbus, IN
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

It should work. Any wireless USB print server should work.
__________________
Weber Silver Gasser, UDS, Maverick 732. Weber 18.5" Silver, Weber Redhead Stainless Performer, Blue Weber 22.5 Gold, 18.5" WSM
Hoosier1960 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-10-2011, 08:34 AM   #5
Jus10
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 11-09-11
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I went ahead and ordered through Staples, so it's an easy return if it doesn't work the way it should.
__________________
The Primo Oval XL Grill & Smoker
Jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-10-2011, 01:36 PM   #6
pwa
is One Chatty Farker
 
pwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-11-11
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

I'd be interested to see if that works for you. I'm looking to order a CyberQ II shortly

pwa
pwa is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-11-2011, 08:30 AM   #7
Jus10
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 11-09-11
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwa View Post
I'd be interested to see if that works for you. I'm looking to order a CyberQ II shortly

pwa

I should get it today and play with it this weekend. From the description, it seems like the data station is given a website that you can access whatever is plugged into it. That would be nice. I'll let you know what happens.
__________________
The Primo Oval XL Grill & Smoker
Jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 11-14-2011, 08:04 AM   #8
Jus10
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 11-09-11
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Update: The Iomega doesn't recognize the CyberQ, but it is pretty slick for storing data and being able to retrieve it via the web. I'm going to be returning it though and trying a normal wireless usb hub.

BTW, the CyberQ is fantastic, no buyers remorse on that whatsoever.
__________________
The Primo Oval XL Grill & Smoker
Jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-14-2011, 10:26 AM   #9
powerpig
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 03-06-11
Location: Guntersville, AL
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

What you need to do is give the unit an ip address on your network, or setup an "ad hoc" connection. The unit below should work.

http://www.iogear.com/product/GUWH104KIT/
powerpig is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:07 PM   #10
5am
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 05-16-10
Location: Marysville, KS
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I've never used one, but if it is a network issue and you need help, send me a PM and I can help you out.
5am is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:16 PM   #11
smokinit
is One Chatty Farker

 
smokinit's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-07
Location: Coxsackie NY
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Default

Had one when I was a dealer could never get to work wirelessly their tech dept was no help. Not sure if they ever worked the bugs out.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
__________________
Authorized Humphrey Smoker Dealer
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=154925
smokinit is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-14-2011, 03:27 PM   #12
iampaulb
Got Wood.
 
Join Date: 01-27-11
Location: Prosper, TX
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

So does the IOMEGA device:
Connect to the network?
Work with ANY other USB devices?
__________________
~~Paul B~~ Prosper, TX ~~ KCBS Member [n00b], KCBS CBJ 60015.
iampaulb is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-14-2011, 04:15 PM   #13
Jus10
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 11-09-11
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iampaulb View Post
So does the IOMEGA device:
Connect to the network?
Work with ANY other USB devices?
Yes, on both questions. Plugged in two flash drives and I was able to go through my network to retrieve the files on both those drives. The Iomega iConnect just doesn't recognize the CyberQ. It will recognize storage devices and printers, this is neither.
__________________
The Primo Oval XL Grill & Smoker
Jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 11-14-2011, 06:02 PM   #14
iampaulb
Got Wood.
 
Join Date: 01-27-11
Location: Prosper, TX
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Well... If you have connectivity with other devices the ports are good on the iOmega and the network connection is good.

Have you tried updating firmware for the device?
https://iomega-na-en.custhelp.com/ap...lp/p/1031,1074

Does the CyberQ II connect ok directly plugged into your laptop?

Is there updated firmware for the CyberQ?

By chance do you have another USB cable to plug the CyberQ into the iOmega? Sometimes cables can be picky about what devices they like.

I am assuming you want to be able to monitor/manager the CyberQ remotely correct?
If so, do you have an old laptop available?
If yes, you could put the old laptop outside weather protected (i.e. in a dry cooler) near the smoker and run the CyberQ off that. As long as both laptops are on the same subnet (wifi), you could run VNC or something to remotely view/control the old laptop that is controlling the CyberQ. They you kick back with an adult beverage, watching the game, while smoking some [insert tasty meats & other goodies] all while being warm and cozy indoors. With this option, you could return the iOmega to the store. Heck Craigslist might even have a used laptop for $50 in your area. I know this may not be what you initially intended, but if there is some kind of a driver compatibility issue with the CyberQ, it may be difficult to find the right device (iOmega and the like) that will work for you.

USB is great most times but sometimes it just sucks...

Also, the CyberQ, is there a list of compatible devices they recommend? You surely can not be the first to think of this issue.

-Paul
__________________
~~Paul B~~ Prosper, TX ~~ KCBS Member [n00b], KCBS CBJ 60015.
iampaulb is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 11-15-2011, 10:08 AM   #15
Jus10
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 11-09-11
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks Paul,
I tried to answer most of your questions below. Although, I haven't achieved the wireless connection, the CyberQ is still great. My smoker is actually close enough that I was able to use the provided usb cable to reach my laptop. I just had to set the laptop lower to where the kids are tempted to play with it, not ideal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iampaulb View Post
Well... If you have connectivity with other devices the ports are good on the iOmega and the network connection is good.

Have you tried updating firmware for the device? Nope, didn't take the time to do that.
https://iomega-na-en.custhelp.com/ap...lp/p/1031,1074

Does the CyberQ II connect ok directly plugged into your laptop? Yes, it worked great, no issues at all.

Is there updated firmware for the CyberQ? Not sure

By chance do you have another USB cable to plug the CyberQ into the iOmega? Sometimes cables can be picky about what devices they like. Didn't try a different cable

I am assuming you want to be able to monitor/manager the CyberQ remotely correct? Yes, that would be a plus
If so, do you have an old laptop available? I do, I just need a new hard drive/OS and wifi capabilities, haven't looked into the cost.
If yes, you could put the old laptop outside weather protected (i.e. in a dry cooler) near the smoker and run the CyberQ off that. As long as both laptops are on the same subnet (wifi), you could run VNC or something to remotely view/control the old laptop that is controlling the CyberQ. I have seen a set-up similar to this. They you kick back with an adult beverage, watching the game, while smoking some [insert tasty meats & other goodies] all while being warm and cozy indoors. With this option, you could return the iOmega to the store. Heck Craigslist might even have a used laptop for $50 in your area. I know this may not be what you initially intended, but if there is some kind of a driver compatibility issue with the CyberQ, it may be difficult to find the right device (iOmega and the like) that will work for you.

USB is great most times but sometimes it just sucks...

Also, the CyberQ, is there a list of compatible devices they recommend? I found a list of one wireless USB hub that the BBQ Guys do NOT recommend. I've sent an e-mail to BBQ GURU asking for advice and if they knew of compatible devices, a week or so later and no reply. You surely can not be the first to think of this issue.

-Paul
__________________
The Primo Oval XL Grill & Smoker
Jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CyberQ order question kik_start Q-talk 5 06-30-2011 11:51 PM
Social Networking? tmcmaster Catering, Food Handling and Awareness 7 01-20-2010 08:18 AM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.