Paella on the Primo XL

chingador

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
There have been some excellent threads lately on Paella on the grill. Paella is one of my favorite things to cook on my Primo. I have made it several times. I am by no means an expert on Paella but I enjoy the finished product.

I first want to start by saying that most of my guidance on how to do this was learned from the Naked Whiz. If you want to learn how to cook Paella on a ceramic grill this is the perfect place to start:

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/paella/paella.htm

I cooked my Paella on my Primo XL grill. I used an 18" Paella pan. It fits perfectly. I bought it online. It is a standard steel Paella pan, not frills. It will rust so you have to take care of it.

They say that traditional Paella is made from rabbit and snails only. I am not a traditional guy, so I like to make mine from chicken or pork + seafood. Headed off to Central Market in the morning and picked up my ingredients. Here is the ingredient list:

stock:
1 pound chicken wings
2 celery ribs
1 onion quartered
1 red bell pepper quartered
4 cloves of garlic
2 links spanish chorizo
3 quarts of water
salt and pepper to taste

Paella:
3 cups Bomba rice
6 cups (plus a half of cup in reserve)
heavy pinch Spanish saffron
1.5 cups fine chopped spanish onion
1 cup fine chopped red bell pepper (I went a little heavier on the red bell)
1 cup diced roma tomato
half can of petite diced tomatoes (drained)
1/2 cup chopped garlic
1 cup frozen peas
2 tablespoons smoked spanish paprika
1 teaspoon salt
1.5 pounds of wild caught gulf shrimp, peeled and diced
2 lobster tails, shelled and diced
1 pound of pork, diced
4 - 5" links of Spanish Chorizo, diced.
olive oil.