Gluten issues

Pelkster

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Good morning!

I've been asked a few times now when serving people's choice and at a catering gig I did if the food that was served had anything that would cause issues with those who are on a gluten free diet. I don't really know that much other than they can't have anything with wheat germ in it, and I can't see anything in the rubs or marinades I use, but I'd like to be 100% sure when giving an answer. Can anyone offer up some advice or more detailed info on this?

Thanks!
Keith

Yes you are correct. Just make sure you read the labels. Most all rubs and marinades would be gluten free and all your protiens. As a chef I deal with gluten allergies all the time. Every label will give allergy info on ingredient list usually last on list. Like you said its the wheat to stay away from breads, pastas etc... The good thing is if you slip up they want die just have a severe stomach ache. If you google celiac disease causes you can get a complete list.

A surprisingly large number suffer from from this. I've seen estimates ranging from 2-5%. It is largely unknown and is not commonly diagnosed, so it is a good thing to keep in mind -- especially when catering to the public. I work with a few people with gluten allergies and have a relative. All tell a similar story of very severe symptoms. Nearly all switched doctors many times until someone suggested this possibility. I have one colleague whose daughter suffered terribly for years and went through many doctors until her boyfriend took a semester off school to study medicine to try to find out what was wrong. He finally diagnosed her.