ಚಿಕನ್
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Brethren Sales and Ventures > Brethren Ventures > Gravity Fed smokers and Grills

Notices

Gravity Fed smokers and Grills We are the inventors of these Gravity Fed Smokers and Grills. Innovative and efficient, these BBQ Grills and smokers can burn multi-fuel of charcoal, Wood Pellet, Wood Chunks, Wood Logs and reach temps of 300C or 572 F.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 02-16-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
Amigatec
On the road to being a farker

 
Amigatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-13
Location: Haskell OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Which is best PID controller

I have read trough quite a few of these threads. Which would be the best PID to buy. I really like the WIFI version, but I have read a lot of bad things about it.

Is it really worth all the hassle?
__________________
Homemade Offset Reverse Flow Smoker.
Horizon 16" Classic
Burnt up Uniflame cheapy.
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2013, 09:12 PM   #2
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

LION is WIFI model.
It is a standard WIFI equipment.
It is very easy for your computer to talk to the LION directly.
But to access LION to Internet needs IT skill. Different environments need different settings. It is really up to the buyer.
Some buyers never access LION to Internet and others set up in 15 minutes.
If you do not have IT knowledge, you can buy the TIGER.
TIGER is wireless remote controlled, and effective distance is 600' feet.
By the way in new LION, it can be connected to computer/router by cable or WIFI.
New LION will be ready end of March.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 05:41 AM   #3
Amigatec
On the road to being a farker

 
Amigatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-13
Location: Haskell OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I will wait for new LION. My smoker is right outside the front door, and it would be easy to run Cat 5 cable to it.
__________________
Homemade Offset Reverse Flow Smoker.
Horizon 16" Classic
Burnt up Uniflame cheapy.
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 05:49 AM   #4
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigatec View Post
I will wait for new LION. My smoker is right outside the front door, and it would be easy to run Cat 5 cable to it.
If you want to monitor and control your smoker from your office far away(say 100 miles), you need to wait for new LION.
If you want to monitor and control your smoker inside your house while your smoker is at backyard, TIGER is great too.
TIGER is cheaper than LION
Effective wireless distance of TIGER is 600' feet.
Effective wireless distance of LION WIFI is 200' feet.
TIGER is easier to use, not setting is needed.
LION needs IT knowledge.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 05:55 AM   #5
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

WIFI feature is too good to be perfect for everyone.
I search by words "cyberQ wifi", and find interesting results.
There are many discussions here and there.
Someone says Cyberq WIFI is great.
Others say that they can never access CyberQ WIFI to Router.
the Problem my LION meets is exactly the same as CyberQ Wifi

I really need an IT expert to take care of service in states.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 06:02 AM   #6
Amigatec
On the road to being a farker

 
Amigatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-13
Location: Haskell OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I have a Growtronx system running on the Internet, as well as cameras in the house.

The Growtronx system didn't have good documentation either, it took a bit of doing, but I got it to work over the net. I have had other Growtronx users contact me to see how to get it to work. Even the developer sends them to me.
__________________
Homemade Offset Reverse Flow Smoker.
Horizon 16" Classic
Burnt up Uniflame cheapy.
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 06:21 AM   #7
Amigatec
On the road to being a farker

 
Amigatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-13
Location: Haskell OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I have run mixed networks for years, Mac, Linux, and Windows. I ALWAYS have problems with the Windows PC. I can connect the Linux and Mac together, but Windows I have to play with. I on currently running an iMac as my primary PC, and have very few problems.

One thing I didn't see mentioned here is what WIFI setup are they used using G or N. I tried G for a very time, and it wouldn't go thought walls. Nothing but trouble. I am on DSL and use my modem as the router, I have that running to a Linksys switch, and in the the living room I have Netgear router setup as a WAP. It can do confusing at first. Some people don't understand network as how to hook stuff together.

My WIFI works outside in my yard.
__________________
Homemade Offset Reverse Flow Smoker.
Horizon 16" Classic
Burnt up Uniflame cheapy.
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 06:22 AM   #8
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigatec View Post
I have a Growtronx system running on the Internet, as well as cameras in the house.

The Growtronx system didn't have good documentation either, it took a bit of doing, but I got it to work over the net. I have had other Growtronx users contact me to see how to get it to work. Even the developer sends them to me.
WOW! great.
The new LION adds internet cable in addition to original WIFI.
If you are good at this thing, present verson of WIFI only shall work for you
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 06:41 AM   #9
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigatec View Post
I have run mixed networks for years, Mac, Linux, and Windows. I ALWAYS have problems with the Windows PC. I can connect the Linux and Mac together, but Windows I have to play with. I on currently running an iMac as my primary PC, and have very few problems.

One thing I didn't see mentioned here is what WIFI setup are they used using G or N. I tried G for a very time, and it wouldn't go thought walls. Nothing but trouble. I am on DSL and use my modem as the router, I have that running to a Linksys switch, and in the the living room I have Netgear router setup as a WAP. It can do confusing at first. Some people don't understand network as how to hook stuff together.

My WIFI works outside in my yard.
Unfortunately B/G
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 07:35 AM   #10
Amigatec
On the road to being a farker

 
Amigatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-13
Location: Haskell OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
Unfortunately B/G
That is probably most of the problem. I tried to use G in the with 2 cameras in 2 different rooms. 802.11g is almost line of sight. The distance was less than 30' to either camera, but there was a wall between the router and cameras, and the signal would not transmit through the wall.

When I replaced the 802.11g with a 802.11n all the problem went away, but by then I had ran Cat 5 cable to everything.

Another thing I haven't seen discussed here is if the users are trying to use 2 routers on the same network. It will work, but NOT recommended. I have a Gigaset DSL modem with built-in router, it was supplied by my ISP. It has 1 port on the back, it is hooked to Linksys SWITCH, a switch and a router are not the same thing. In the back of that I have iMac, my Win XP PC, 3 IP Cameras, and in the living room I have it hooked into a Netgear 802.11n router, setup as a wireless access point. The router side of the Netgear is disabled.

There is a diifference between a router, a switch and a hub. They may all look alike, but they are very different.

When I set my cameras, and Growtronx systems up for Internet access, first I set my DSL/router as a DHCP server for the first 50 addresses only. I.e. 192.168.1-50. The then set up all my devices to use static IP addresses, that way I know where they are on the network.i configured my camera and Growtronx software to work on the local net work. The the server addresses to port number 800 on one and 8000 on the other the cameras are running on the Mac the Growtronx is running on the PC. I then went to dyndns.org and setup an account, my accounts are grandfathered and are still free. It can take several days for the DNS addresses to become active. I am using the address for both systems.

Next I went into my DSL/router and setup the dyndns option with my account information, this is so when my IP address changes dyndns can update the info.

I then went into the port forwarding option the forwarded all requests to port 800 to my Mac and all requests to port 8000 to my PC. I also forwarded both TCP and UDP to the ports. Rebooted the router.

I can access both systems from my iPad or Smartphone, but you have to setup 2 bookmarks, one for local access and one for remote access. The local access is something like 193.168.1.60:800 for the cameras and 192.168.1.70:8000 for the Growtrinx system. For Internet access use your dyndns address but add :800 or :8000 to the end to access the correct server.

When on your local network you can not access your system with the Internet account, you have to use the local address, I.e. 192.168.1.60:800' when away from your local network or on somebody else's WIFI you have to use the dyndns address. Since my PC only runs part of the year and have nothing on it other the Growtronx system I disabled the firewall. The chances of some hacker finding it are very low, I don't surf the net with it, and the firewall in my router is still active.

I hope this helps.
__________________
Homemade Offset Reverse Flow Smoker.
Horizon 16" Classic
Burnt up Uniflame cheapy.
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 07:55 AM   #11
Amigatec
On the road to being a farker

 
Amigatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-13
Location: Haskell OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Will the new Lion support both 802.11n and Cat 5, or just 802.11b/g and Cat 5?

For those that are not familiar with the 802.11 standard, the g system runs on 2.5 ghz and get a lot of interference with wireless keyboards, wireless phone and just about anything wireless. 802.11n is dual band runs in 2.5 and 5 ghz. The b/g setups will have one antenna and the n setups will have two.

Also the 802.11n setups cost more because of the dual band technology.
__________________
Homemade Offset Reverse Flow Smoker.
Horizon 16" Classic
Burnt up Uniflame cheapy.

Last edited by Amigatec; 02-17-2013 at 08:19 AM..
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2013, 09:08 AM   #12
Amigatec
On the road to being a farker

 
Amigatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-13
Location: Haskell OK
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

When I get my Lion Setup I will write an in-depth How-to on how to set up the WIFI.

It can be confusing, but I feel I need to come to Mr. Wang's defense, he is a developer and NOT a tech manual writer. He thinks like a developer, so his understanding of the system is totally different than a common user.

I used to write software, I started way back with a Commodore 64 writing in basic and saw terms like peek and poke, yes these were valid programming terms. a few years later I started write addon packages for a Linux firewall project and learned some different terms. I was trying to learn to write in PERL, BASH, and just a little C++. It gives you a whole different understanding how a program works when you get under the hood, and turn the nuts and bolts.

Seting up my Growtronx system it really helped that I had a back ground in programming, it helped understand the logic and program flow to get the policies working.

(Just for info Growtronx is a grow room system that is very flexible, but the learning curve is steep. http://growtronix.com/store/)

I understand his English is not good, but his English is MUCH better than my Chinese. I even have problems ordering General Tso's Chicken down at the local drivethur. LOL
__________________
Homemade Offset Reverse Flow Smoker.
Horizon 16" Classic
Burnt up Uniflame cheapy.
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.