The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Catering, Food Handling and Awareness

Notices

Catering, Food Handling and Awareness *OnTopic* Forum to educate us on safe food handling. Not specifically for Catering or competition but overall health and keeping our families safe too.

Unread 02-20-2012, 10:27 AM   #1
DirtyDirty00
is one Smokin' Farker

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Price for Pulled Pork

A buddy of mine runs a snackbar (ya, i know, weve heard this one before)...

I have been making him pulled pork for the last 6 months. I just made him a 3rd batch. I have been charging him $25 per butt. usually 6 butts, so $150 total.

this includes me buying them from RD, buying the injection, rubs, wood ect. Then smoking them for roughly 8 hours and pulling them and delivering it to the snackbar.

However after this last time the butts were pretty big and cost more than usual. the 6 butts were around 62 pounds total. thats a bit over 10 lbs per butt. So at 1.35 per lb, my meat was already hovering $85. tack on 6 at the supermarket, rubs and fuel, i probably make about 40-45 bucks for the batch (which is not worth it).

So this time i told him there were 7 butts bc they were so heavy and charged the extra $25. So at least i made roughly $70.

If someone wanted to buy in bulk like this, how much do you charge? Per pound? Per butt? And if by pound, do you do it precook weight, or after cook weight? How much per lb precook?

Thanks guys.

Wishlist:
22.5" WSM
DirtyDirty00 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-20-2012, 10:54 AM   #2
sampson
is one Smokin' Farker