Cooking Class Swamp Boys Q School in FLA

Rub

is One Chatty Farker
Reaction score
Man there's a lot of classes out there right now! Here is a link to mine on Feb. 10-11: http://www.swampboys.com/wordpress/?p=530 I am a very active one man team cooking 25+ contests each year for the past 5 years, and placing 2nd, TOTY, TOTY, 4th, and 3rd in the FBA Team of the Year race for those 5 years. This is not a mega-class, it will be kept small so there can be lots of one on one interaction. I have over 23 years of teaching experience, 8 years of competition BBQ experience, 31 GC's and 24 RGC's. I've had people come in from Canada and almost 20 states to take it.

This is a techniques class and has produced and continues to produce lots of first time GCs, RGCs, category winners, etc. Read more about it at the link above.

This class is outside and lakefront; it should be a beautiful setting :becky: Come to Winter Haven in February and let's talk barbecue.

I took Rubs class in October in Baltimore. I flew in from Kansas City on a Friday morning. I was unaware that the class would be held outside in the alley of a tavern next to the dumpster. I should have asked more questions. We got word Friday afternoon that it was going to snow 4 inches on Saturday, and it did. It was 32 degrees, and snowing heavily during the entire class. We were under two tents, huddled around a portable table freezing our a**es off. (A heater would have been nice, at least for the wives ) An indoor backup plan would have been well thought out and well appreciated.
When he says "one man show", its all that. I felt that he was greatly un-organized. And as far as "techniques", why not just turn on youtube? If you really want to learn winning bbq secrets and tricks of competing, take Rod Greys class or Johnny Triggs. They really tell it all, sauces, rubs, everything. You will walk away with your moneys worth. Im looking forward to Butchers class in January, he also tells all.