The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 04-29-2005, 08:26 PM   #1
Hoorenga
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Hoorenga's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-05
Location: North West Washington
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Smoker lid crushing thermometer lead

I think that last post was a bit too long as no one seemed to make it far enough to get to my question. Either that or you guys don't like me.
Hey, quick question.

I'm haveing a problem using my remote thermometer.
The lead on the probe end has to pass under the heavy lid of the door of the smoke chamber. There is no room for it to pass without getting crushed. Should I use a file or grinder and cut a small grove for it to pass through? Passing it down the chimney was suggested but it is too short for that.
__________________
Hoo

It was a brave man who first ate an oyster.
Brinkman Stillwater Limited, Great Outdoors Vertical charcoal.
Hoorenga is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-29-2005, 08:29 PM   #2
willkat98
somebody shut me the fark up.
 
willkat98's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-03
Location: Chicago Western Burbs, but always south of Madison Ave.
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

how long is the probe lead?

can you go down the chimney?
__________________
.
Bill-Chicago

"Boots and Pants and Boots and Pants and Boots and Pants..." - Maxwell

Bandera, M-BGE, WSM, Gold Kettle, Kenmore Gasser, 36Qt Turkey Fryer, ECB, Dutch Oven
willkat98 is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-29-2005, 09:54 PM   #3
BBQchef33
Grand Poobah and Site Admin
 
BBQchef33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-03
Location: Long Island, NY
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 4
Default

i got thru about 9-10 leads a year just becase of that( i have 3 transmitters). I guess notching the chamber may work, but i just buy extra leads and so I always have backups.
__________________
Site Administrator and
Grand PooBah

CBJ with a Fuzzy Blue Hat, 18 Foot Competition Trailer, Customized Klose BYC, Custom Klose built MoAB (Mother of All Banderas) passed on to Big Dog, 1 Double Barreled Lang 84, 1 Heavily Modified Bionic Bandera, 1 Custom Super Medium Stickburning Spicewine w/stoker, 1 XL BGE, 1 Mini BGE, 1 Pit Barrel Cooker, 3 WSMs, 3 Weber Kettles, an NB Hondo, A Modified Brinkman Horizontal, DCS 48" Grill, a Broilmaster P3, a covered, pellet pooping FEC100, and our duck died. :(

News Flash:
"A mans worth is judged by the weight of his integrity "

You know your getting older when you choose your cereal for the fiber, not the toy


Smoke on KC.
WWW.BBQ-BRETHREN.COM
BBQchef33 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-29-2005, 10:34 PM   #4
Hoorenga
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Hoorenga's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-05
Location: North West Washington
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Seems to me that cutting a grove would solve the problem. I just don't know if there are any problems associated with doing it. Can't imagin that there are. It wouldn't be large enough to effect the air flow. What made me think of it is that I saw a dutch oven the other day that had just such a groove but it was done in the casting. I think my leads are about three feet long, mabye four.
__________________
Hoo

It was a brave man who first ate an oyster.
Brinkman Stillwater Limited, Great Outdoors Vertical charcoal.
Hoorenga is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-29-2005, 11:19 PM   #5
Solidkick
somebody shut me the fark up.
 
Solidkick's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Bandera Owner in Missouri
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Are you ever going to use more than one probe at a time? Are you eventually going to end up with 4-6 filed grooves in your smoker lid?
Are you going to probe from the beginning of each and every cook?
Have you learned where your hot spot is in your smoker so you don't file out a place in the lid possibly in the wrong place?

Buying replacement leads looking a little more promising??

Only you know your cooker, but from the pictures, I'm sure the lid is quite heavy and could or will possibly damage the leads. Give some serious thought to all the alternatives before you possibly create spots that could result in heat lose due to bad planning.

Another thing....in a year from now, you'll know if your cooker cooks at an hour per pound or 1.5 hours per pound and you'll learn how to check for doneness by feel. A quick opening of the lid and checking with a digital redicheck thermometer and checking for tenderness by the way the meat feels while inserting the thermometer will become natural.

If you want to go straight to a redicheck, here's the safe temp zones.

Chicken--breast meat--160*
Thighs and legs--180*
Whole chicken--180* at the thigh/leg joint
Beef and pork are considered "done" at 160*, always take ground
beef and pork to at least this temp. I prefer 165*
Briskets are best cooked to 190*-195*
Pulled pork 190*-195*, sliced pork about 180*
Pork loin 160*

Phil cooks his prime rib to 145*, I believe, and the turns it in the hot spot to finish

Hope I haven't rambled and given you information you really didn't want or need. Consider all alternatives...........have a great day.........
__________________
Mr. Kick


------------------------------------------------
Belly Brothers BBQ Team

"Sister Flame" Spicewine Trailer Smoker,Modified Bandera, Uni-Flame Chicken Cooker with a Spicewine Thermometer mod,Kingsford Barrel cooker and a super fast RED thermapen

KC always said "fat cap up!!
Solidkick is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 12:23 AM   #6
Hoorenga
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Hoorenga's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-05
Location: North West Washington
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm pretty good at checking on doneness by feel and eye but I have a thing for gadgets. I also like doing things the old fashioned way. The smoker lets me do both. I can tend my fire and watch the digital read out and drink my beer. I wouldn't think that it would matter where I cut the grove. We arn't talking' a window here. As long as the lead is long enough to reach anywhere in the cooking chamber. Has anyone else done this. I could do a hole or a grove. One temp probe is enough for me even if I'm doing multiple pieces. Guess I'm going to have to do it and report back.
__________________
Hoo

It was a brave man who first ate an oyster.
Brinkman Stillwater Limited, Great Outdoors Vertical charcoal.
Hoorenga is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 06:38 AM   #7
Neil
Quintessential Chatty Farker

 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-04
Location: St. Joseph, MI
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

If it were me, I'd file a groove rather than drill a hole. Just my $.02.
__________________
"You can't always get what you want but if you try sometime you just might find you get what you need"

Mange Bene Viva Bene!

NB Bandera-Firebox & Baffle Mod, WSM, Weber: Performer(Col. Steve Austin Mod), WSM, Three 22 1/2" Kettles, 2 Brinkman Dual Zone Proffessional Grills, Smoky Joe, Uniflame Tabletop Gasser, Luhr-Jensen Big Chief, Turkey Fryer, Rocky Mountain Camp Stove & 3 UDS's.
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 07:42 AM   #8
hrchdog
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 04-21-05
Location: Herrin, IL.
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

If you file a small slot in the middle of the opening on the stillwater a three foot probe should reach either end of the smoker. On the great outdoors smoker just remove one of the bottom bolts holding the handle to the side and run your probes thru the hole'
hrchdog is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 09:46 AM   #9
Hoorenga
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Hoorenga's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-05
Location: North West Washington
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Smoker lid crushing thermometer lead

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrchdog
On the great outdoors smoker just remove one of the bottom bolts holding the handle to the side and run your probes thru the hole'
The door on the Great Outdoors is so warped that there is always a crack some where along the edge to get the lead safely through.

On the Brinkman I was thinking that a hole could be easily pluged if I ever decided I didn't need it. I'll ponder it some more while I'm Qing today.
__________________
Hoo

It was a brave man who first ate an oyster.
Brinkman Stillwater Limited, Great Outdoors Vertical charcoal.
Hoorenga is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 11:31 AM   #10
Hoorenga
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Hoorenga's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-05
Location: North West Washington
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

A little time of quiet contemplation as I fired up the Brinkman this morning gave me the insight I needed. I already have a nice little hole in my smoker in just the right location. The Grease drain! Ran both sensor leads easily through and they have just enough length to reach the optimal cooking areas. Thanks for letting me think out loud and bouncing this off of you all.
__________________
Hoo

It was a brave man who first ate an oyster.
Brinkman Stillwater Limited, Great Outdoors Vertical charcoal.
Hoorenga is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 12:36 PM   #11
BigBelly
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 07-28-04
Location: Elizabeth CO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I take a very simple approach to using my thermo's. As Willkat already pointed out. I run all my leads down through the chimney and stick my thermos right to the side of the cooking chamber, up top and away from the firebox. I will generally have two thermos for grate temps. One for the bottom portion of the cooking chamber and one for the top. This gives a good idea of the temp ranges throughout the entire chamber. Any additional thermos I use are for meats I want to know the internal temperature of like butts and brisket. All of which I run down through the top of the cooking chamber.

Drilling a small hole is a good option as well.
__________________
Big Boy Jerky
Authentic Hardwood Smoked Jerky
[url]www.bigboyjerky.com[/url]

Family BBQ and Catering
~: Proud Bandera Owner :~
BigBelly is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 12:43 PM   #12
brdbbq
Quintessential Chatty Farker
 
brdbbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-05-03
Location: Derry NH
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

You all probe to much. BTW I figured where to put my probe last night.
__________________
Proud Owner of a George Forrman
brdbbq is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 04-30-2005, 01:20 PM   #13
Hoorenga
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Hoorenga's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-05
Location: North West Washington
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I would think that once you figured out where your hot spots were and how the temperature varied from spot to spot within the chamber that you would only need one probe in a general location and deduce the temp in other locations from that?
__________________
Hoo

It was a brave man who first ate an oyster.
Brinkman Stillwater Limited, Great Outdoors Vertical charcoal.
Hoorenga is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 05-01-2005, 06:22 AM   #14
kcquer
Lives in Spirit
 
kcquer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-17-04
Location: Wherever there's Sweet Blue
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
I would think that once you figured out where your hot spots were and how the temperature varied from spot to spot within the chamber that you would only need one probe in a general location and deduce the temp in other locations from that?
I completely agree, and wouldn't trust a digital to read "pit temp". Digitals are great meat thermometers but suck for pit temp readings, they're too sensitive to any minute influence that would push the readings up or down from that good overall picture you're looking for. A quality door therm (regularly verified by an cheap oven therm behind it) IMO is best for overall pit temp.
kcquer is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 05-01-2005, 10:43 AM   #15
brdbbq
Quintessential Chatty Farker
 
brdbbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-05-03
Location: Derry NH
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

KC,

Disagree with you thoughts on Digital, but then look where I work. You got to discipline yourself to igonre them readings down there in the .1 *F range. If you want to go crazy start checking humidity levels down less than 1% RH. Now that will drive you to drink.
__________________
Proud Owner of a George Forrman
brdbbq is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to test thermometer in smoker? Chopjaw Q-talk 4 08-04-2011 09:42 AM
Need Digital Thermometer for smoker Dillo_Duster Q-talk 5 06-08-2011 08:27 PM
Smoker Thermometer prodano Q-talk 4 07-07-2010 11:51 AM
Weber performer lid thermometer kwantz Q-talk 5 10-25-2009 08:09 PM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts