The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 08-09-2011, 10:23 PM   #1
LT72884
Babbling Farker

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default the flavor bible

SO i just got the flavor bible for my birthday. It is a very interesting book. I noticed as a thumbed through it that there seems to be no recipes. There happens to be a few excerpts on names of dishes and where they are served at on a few of the pages. IE pg 131.

Since i am new to this whole idea of mixing foods and being creative idea, any help and understanding of how to use this book would be awesome..

thanks

Unread 08-09-2011, 10:41 PM   #2
martyleach
Babbling Farker

The book starts with a great discussion about what comprises taste. I enjoyed the beginning chapters immensely. Then what it gets into is pairings of flavors. What works and what doesn't as measured by some well known chefs.

I use it when I am trying something new. Like, would a balsamic vinegar plum reduction sauce go well with lamb?

I think it is a great book for reference and learning. Definitely not a recipe book.
MAK One Star Pellet Grill, Smokey Joe Gold, Jumbo Joe Gold, Custom wooden handles for BBQ's made by Marty Leach (oh, that's me)

www.amlwoodart.com
martyleach is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-09-2011, 10:45 PM   #3
swibirun
is one Smokin' Farker

I got this book on the recommendation of fellow Brethren Patio Daddio and I'm so glad I did.

It isn't a cook book or recipe book, you're right. It is more about matching flavors. Here are three ways I use it: