עָטִין
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 07-02-2011, 09:58 PM   #1
cbpeck
Full Fledged Farker

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default pork butts on a wsm - 1st time with both, please advise

Hey everyone,

I'm getting ready to do two pork butts, 8 lbs each, on my wsm. Here's the thing, I've never used my wsm or cooked butts before. And I'm planning on feeding ppl tomorrow... I didn't promise anything, though. I've done a lot of reading and just mixed up a batch of Popdaddy's Buttglitter, so I'm pretty confident it won't be a total disaster.

Here are my remaining questions.

How much should I trim the butts?
Should I put both butts on the same grate or one on each?
If I do use both grates the top butt will cook faster, right?
With a target temp of 225 in the WSM, how long should I expect these to take to get to 195 internal?
What's the best way to pull pork without bbq gloves or claws?

Thanks guys!

Unread 07-02-2011, 10:05 PM   #2
bmanMA
is one Smokin' Farker

1) trim them to the meat.
2) if you fit them both on the top grate, do that.
3) yes, but avoid it if you can. Your butts are small.
4) figure 90 minutes per pound.
5) forks

Unread 07-02-2011, 10:06 PM   #3
Ron_L

Downloads: 1

Lots of questions :)

How much should I trim the butts?
Trim off any thick fat on the fat cap side and trim any fat on the meat side. Cook fat cap down to insulate the meat from the heat coming from below.

Should I put both butts on the same grate or one on each?
If they fit on the same grate it will be easier to check them for done.